Professional Advisory Board

student on campus

The Department of Communications has three advisory boards representing the three distinct areas of concentration within the major.

The professional advisory board meets annually to advise the chair, inform faculty of best practices in the profession, meet with students, review curriculum and facilities, consult regarding industry trends and assist in strategic development.


Mass Communication
Tedra Bledsoe, ClearChannel Radio
Aerial Ellis, Lipscomb University
Val Hoeppner, Freedom Forum          
Dwight E. Brooks, Ph.D. Middle Tennessee State University
Neysa Taylor, NewsChannel 5
Dorothy Henckel, The Documentary Channel
Erik Werner, WZTV-Fox 17
Brian Owens, Nashville Film Festival
Kenny Smoov, WQQK-FM

Communication Studies
Dr. Marcia Alesan Dawkins, Brown University
Dr. Marian Williams Patton, Tennessee State University
Dr. Mary Vaughn, Belmont University

Jeff O. Carr, The Amun Ra Theatre company, Nashville, TN  
Gary Hoff, Tennessee Repertory Theatre, Nashville, TN
Denice Hicks, Nashville Shakespeare Festival, Nashville, TN
Dianna Scales, Dept. of Communications, TSU, Nashville, TN
Eugenia Sweeney, Collards and Cavier Theatre Company, Nashville, TN