Department of Educational Leadership

Twianie Roberts, Interim Department Chair

Interim Chair


It is with great pleasure that we welcome you to visit the Department of Educational Leadership Family at Tennessee State University. The department has a proud history of preparing exemplary educational leaders including assistant principals, principals, teacher leaders, higher education administrators, directors, professors, superintendents, chancellors, and vice presidents across the state and the nation. I am happy to say that our graduates are among the best in the state and the nation. 


The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership is to provide quality education programs that integrate theory, practice, research, and service to meet the leadership needs of local, state, national, and international levels. Our faculty strives to prepare effective, innovative, and culturally responsive leaders in the field of education, who are capable of transforming organizations to a higher end. 

The department offers three degree programs: Master of Education (M.Ed.), Education Specialist (Ed.S.), and Doctor of Education (Ed.D.). Our degree programs combine both conceptual and field-based experiences at the advanced level. All degree programs are approved by SACS. Our administrative licensure programs are approved by CAEP and have full approval by the the Tennessee Department of Education.  The department also has membership with prestigious organizations such as University Council of Educational Administrators (UCEA) and the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate (CPED). Our program is among the best in the nation.

I invite you to visit our website. You may find many exciting opportunities for graduate education. Our programs are designed to meet the needs of the busy professionals.  Whether you seek to attend class at night, on the weekend, or simply take an online course, we offer a program that will fit your requirements. Please contact our office at 615-963-5450 for more information on our degree offerings.


Department Chair of the Department of Educational Leadership



Professional Affiliations

ncate tndoe