Faculty Senate

Faculty Participation in the Governance and Development of the University 

The Tennessee State University Faculty Senate is a representative governing body elected by the Faculty. The Senate enables effective participation of the Faculty in the governance and development of the University, and it serves as a path of communication between the University's various constituencies. The Senate initiates, formulates, discusses and recommends academic and other related policies that affect more than one unit of the University. The Senate also issues reports to the President of the University, and, through him or her, to the Board of Trustees.

The Faculty Senate meets on a monthly basis during the academic year. Details below.

         If there is no struggle, there is no progress. Fredrick Douglass



The Next Faculty Senate Meeting

Thursday, August 15, 2024

2:40 PM - 4:30 PM

(Central Time)

Virtual Meeting via Zoom

See the agenda for the ZOOM link 






Greetings from the Chair of Faculty Senate

Dr. Artenzia Young-Seigler


Greetings Faculty Colleagues and Friends of Tennessee State University,

I am honored to welcome you on behalf of the Faculty Senate to our webpage.

It is an honor and a privilege to serve as the Faculty Senate Chair for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 academic years.  Words cannot accurately express the level of gratitude that I have upon being elected as the leader of the Senate as we collectively stand as advocates for the faculty body.  

The Faculty Senate represents the united voice of all faculty in contributing to:  policy development and implementation, initiatives that build the institution’s infrastructure, programs that promote student engagement and scholarship, other University building projects, and fiscal responsibility.  This body, the Faculty Senate, is committed to working with each division and unit of the University to foster an atmosphere of shared governance as we jointly accomplish established missions and goals. The senate embraces the Shared Governance Protocol as defined in our constitution which states that “governance is the shared responsibility of the Faculty and the Administration and incorporates the processes and policies that result in decisions that create, implement, evaluate, or change the University’s academic and research mission or programs.” 

Although the University continues to navigate through challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic and monkeypox virus outbreaks, I firmly believe in the resilience of this great institution.  Tennessee State University was established on a foundation of enormous fortitude and has proven over and over again its ability to weather any storm presented externally or internally.   As we work together to prepare future generations, may our motto guide us as we “Think, Work, and Serve”.

In conclusion, the Faculty Senate exists to serve you as we produce the next generation of scholars and leaders. Do not hesitate to contact me or any of the Faculty Senators.   As stated by Henry Ford, “If everyone is moving forward together, then success takes care of itself.”

Thank you and have another outstanding academic year!



Artenzia C. Young-Seigler, Professor

2022-2024 Faculty Senate Chair

College of Life and Physical Sciences

Department of Biological Sciences