Specialized Program Accreditation & Program Review

student on campus 

Specialized Program Accreditation

In addition to the university’s regional accreditation through SACSCOC, many programs hold accreditation through a specialized or content area accrediting agency.  A full listing of programs holding specialized accreditation as well as their accrediting bodies can be found below.

Program Evaluation

In accordance with the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC), all programs at Tennessee State University not holding specialized accreditation are required to conduct a full program review every five years.  Information on TSU’s specific requirements, procedures, and policies for program review are available by contacting staff in the Institutional Planning and Program Review office.



Academic Program Accreditations

College of Agriculture, Human and Natural Sciences

  • Chemistry (B.S.: American Chemical Society-Committee on Professional Training [ACS-CPT])
  • Family and Consumer Sciences (B.S.: American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, American Dietetics Association)

College of Business

  • Business (B.B.A., M.B.A.: The Association for the Advancement of Collegiate Schools of Business)

College of Education

  • Education (B.S., M.S., M.A.Ed., Ed.S. Ed.D: National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
  • Psychology (B.S., Ph.D with concentration in Counseling: American Psychological Association (APA)

College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science

  • Aeronautical & Industrial Technology (B.S.: National Association of Industrial Technology)
  • Architectural & Mechanical Engineering (B.S.: Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology)
  • Civil & Environmental Engineering (B.S.: Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology)
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering (B.S.: Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology)
  • Computer Science (B.S.: Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology)

College of Health Sciences

  • Nursing (A.A.S., B.S.N., M.S.N.: National League for Nursing Accreditation Commission)
  • Cardio-Respiratory Care Sciences (B.S.: Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs)
  • Dental Hygiene (A.A.S., B.S.: Commission on Dental Accreditation)
  • Health Care Administration and Planning (B.S.: Association of University Programs in Health Administration)
  • Health Information Management (B.S.: Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management )
  • Occupational Therapy (MOT:The Master in Occupational Therapy program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education of the American Occupational Therapy Association)
  • Physical Therapy (DPT: The Doctor of Physical Therapy program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education)
  • Speech Pathology and Audiology (M.S.: Council of Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association)

College of Liberal Arts 

  • Art (B.S.: National Association of Schools of Art & Design)
  • Music (B.S., M.S.:National Association of Schools of Music)

College of Public Service and Urban Affairs

  • Public Administration (M.P.A.: The National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration)
  • Social Work (B.S.: The Council on Social Work Education)




webpage contact:
Institutional Planning and Assessment