Environmental Sciences

Ensuring a Sustainable Global Community

deKoffThe Environmental Sciences research program and concentration in the Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences is focused on environmental quality and natural resource systems. Our mission is to:

  • advance student and stakeholder knowledge,
  • create new knowledge and build relationships,
  • and enrich lives to ensure a sustainable global community.

Our vision is to maintain a diverse perspective with relevant priorities to ensure quality research and educational opportunities and successes for our students.

The College hosts an impressive faculty in the Environmental Sciences with a wide range of expertise across the research, extension, and teaching mission areas who work to solve the problems facing Tennessee, the United States, and the world.

Faculty and Graduate Students


Faculty focus areas:
Applied Geospatial Information Systems (GIS) (Dr. Solomon Haile)
Applied remote sensing (Dr. Clement Akumu)
Bio/Phytoremediation (Dr. E. Kudjo Dzantor)
Bioenergy (Dr. Jason de Koff)
Climate change (Dr. Jianwei Li)
Environmental design and community development (Dr. George Smith)
Environmental soil chemistry (Dr. Sudipta Rakshit)
Forest biomass modeling (Dr. Bharat Pokharel)
Plant Nutrition (Dr. Dharma Pitchay)
Urban forestry (Dr. De’Etra Young)
Urbanization and environmental change (Dr. Reginald Archer)
Water quality (Dr. Sam Dennis)
Wetlands and bioremediation (Dr. Tom Byl)
Wildlife ecology (Dr. William Sutton)





What classes are needed in the Environmental Sciences Concentration?

Dennis tour group

For information, contact:

Environmental Sciences Concentration
Dr. Jason P. de Koff, ES Faculty Leader
(615) 963-4929 | jdekoff@tnstate.edu

Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 
Dr. Sam Nahashon, Interim Head 
(615) 963-2575 | snahashon@tnstate.edu