Faculty and Staff

guitar lesson

The Music Faculty is made up of over fifty full- and part-time instructors, each of whom is a specialist within a particular area of music. The Department also makes extensive use of the abundant commercial music resources found in Nashville, one of the recording and music industry capitals of the world. All music offices are located in the Performing Arts Center unless otherwise indicated.


Jeff Adams, Trombone, Music Appreciation, Commercial Music 
Adrian Barnett, Saxophone, Arranging
Jeff Beckman, Instrumental Music Education, Music Residency I 
Lisa Bradley, Music Appreciation
Ashley Crawford, Flute
Dr. Mark Crawford, Coordinator of Commercial Music, Music Business
William Crimm, Voice, Music Appreciation
Patrick Dailey, Voice, Music Appreciation
Dr. Sean Daniels, Percussion , Jazz Improvisation, Jazz Combo
Victor Davis, Music Appreciation, Vocal Music Education, University Choir
Paul Deyo, Trumpet
Veronica Edwards Douglas, Piano
Joseph Doyle, Songwriting, Music Appreciation
Dr. Robert Elliott, Department Head, Music Appreciation, Thesis, Double Bass
Deidre Emerson, Cello 
William "Tiger" Fitzhugh, Guitar, Music Appreciation
Kerry Frazier, Music Appreciation
Dylan Griffith, Piano, Music Appreciation, Director of Community Academy of Music and Arts (CAMA
Patricia Gunter, Bassoon 
Dr. Olga Harris, Music Composition
Larry Jenkins, Assistant Band Director, Instrumental, Brass, Music Ed., Music Appreciation
Maxine Jones, Piano, Music Appreciation
Dr. Susan Kelly, Choir Director, Voice, Choral Music Education 
Gregg Lohman, Percussion 
Jason Luntz , Entrepreneurship in the Arts 
Pamela McCoy , Music Appreciation 
Dr. Reginald McDonald , Coordinator of Instrumental Music, Director of Bands and Orchestra, Music Ed.
Leonard Morton, Commercial Music Ensemble 
Dr. Darryl Nettles , Coordinator of Vocal Music, Voice, Music Theory 
Stefan Petrescu, Violin, Viola 
Dr. Ljerka Rasmussen, Music History, Ethnomusicology, Music Appreciation 
Phyllis Sparks, Harp, piano, flute
James Sexton, Orchestration, Jazz Ensemble 
Robert Shankle, Clarinet, Saxophone
Dr. Jeffrey Tackett, Commercial Music, Music Technology, Studio, Guitar 
Dr. Kadir Tolga Tem, Music Theory, Music Appreciation, Aural Skills, Music for Video Game 
Dr. Richard Todd, Classical Guitar, Music Theory 
Dr. Joseph Van Dyke, Piano
Elvie Williams, Music appreciation, Voice  



Fenise Miles, Administrative Assistant, Music Department Office
Allegra Coggins, Administrative Assistant, Music Department Office

Michelle Allen, Office Manager, Band Office
Melva Townsend, Administrative Assistant, Band Office
James Pitts, Instrument Repair Technician