Faculty and Staff

Meet the Teaching and Learning Team

The faculty believe perspective gives meaning to the intellectual and practical elements of curriculum and instruction and these must be explored with students for their underlying assumptions, and for their relative strengths and weaknesses. The theoretical and practical paradigms that shape American education are explored for their implications in today's increasingly global classroom.

Teaching & Learning (EDCI)
Main Office: 203 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5465
Campus P.O. Box 9561

Dr. Calli Holaway

Clara Young-White, Ph.D.
Department Head, Associate Professor


Office: 203B Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5464
Email: cyoung37 @tnstate.edu 

Nicole Kendall

Nicole K. Arrighi, Ed.D.
Associate Professor

B.S., 1999 University of Tennessee at Martin, M.S. 2000,
Peabody College of Vanderbilt University , Ed.D, 2005,
Tennessee State University

Office: 204A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5482
Email: nkendall@tnstate.edu

Faculty Website 

Jane Asamani

Jane Asamani, Ph.D.

Practitioner License, 1981, Moneaque Teachers College, St. Ann,
Jamaica; B.A., 1981, University of the West Indies, Mona Kingston, 
Jamaica; M.A., 1986, Fisk University; Ed.S., 1993, Tennessee State
University; Ed.D., 1995, Tennessee State University

Office: 209C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5573
Email:  jasamani@tnstate.edu

Sumita Chakraborti-Ghosh

Sumita Chakraborti-Ghosh, Ph.D.

B.S., 1975, Calcutta University, Calcutta, India; B.S., 1987,
Utah State University; M.A., 1979, Rabindrabharah University,
Calcutta India; Ph.D., 1998, New Mexico State University

Office: 209B Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5476
Email:  schakraborti@tnstate.edu  


Beth Christian

Beth Christian, Ph.D.

B.A., 1991, University of Tennessee; M.A., 1993, 
Middle Tennessee State University; Ph.D., 2002, Peabody College of
Vanderbilt University

Office: 216 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5324
VSCC Campus: (615) 230-3706
Email: bchristian1@tnstate.edu 

Faculty Website

Mrs. Gervaise Clark

Mrs. Gervaise Clark
Administrative Assistant III 

blue star  Celebrating 15 years of Service

Office: 203 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5465
Email:  geclark@tnstate.edu   

Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens, Ph.D.

B.A., 1971, George Peabody College for Teachers; M.S., 1972,
University of Tennessee; Ph.D., 1979, George Peabody College of
Vanderbilt University

Office: 204B Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5029 or 1489
Email:  cdickens@tnstate.edu  

Blanche Glimps

Blanche Glimps, Ph.D.

B.S., 1964, Eastern Michigan University; M.Ed., 1967, Wayne State
University; Ph.D., 1979, University of Michigan

Office: 211D Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1346
Email:  bglimps@tnstate.edu   

Dr. Calli Holaway

Calli Holaway, Ph.D. Assistant Professor

B.S., 1993, Concordia University, M.A., 1999,
University of South Dakota; Ph.D, 2005,
University of Arkansas

Office: 209D Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5470
Email: cholaway@tnstate.edu

Dr. Ashlee Hover

Ashlee Hover, Ed.D.
Full-time Temporary

B.S., 2002, Middle Tennessee State University, M.Ed., 2006,
Middle Tennessee State University, Ed.S., 2009,
Middle Tennessee State University, Ed.D.,
2014, Tennessee State University

Office: 211A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5466
Email: ahover@tnstate.edu

John Mark Hunter

John Mark Hunter, Ed.D.

B.A., 1982, College of Charleston; M.M.A., 1983, University of
South Carolina; Ed.D., 1991, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University

Office: L402 Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-7051
Email:  jmhunter@tnstate.edu  

Dr. Show Mei Lin

Show Mei Lin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

B.A. 1981 Soochow University, Taipei, Taiwan; M.S.W. 1985,
California State University, Fresno; Teacher Certification 1997,
University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada; Ph.D.2009 The 
University of Oklahoma

Office: 209A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1348
Email:  slin@tnstate.edu 

Delores Mathis

Dolores Mathis, Ph.D.

B.S., 1967, Florida A & M; M.A., 1969, The Ohio State University, Ed.S.,
1971, Ph.D., 1975, University of Michigan

Office: 413 Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-7282
Email:  dmathis@tnstate.edu  

Mary Ann Pangle

Mary Ann Pangle, Ed.D.
Associate Professor

B.S., 1961; M.A. 1965, George Peabody College; Ed.D. 2004,
Tennessee State University

Office: 206 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-2126
Email:  mpangle01@tnstate.edu

Judith Presley

Judith Presley, Ph.D.

B.S., 1969, Tennessee State University; M.S., 1974,
Tennessee State University; Ph.D., 1998, George Peabody 
College of Vanderbilt

Office: 210 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5468
Email:  jpresley@tnstate.edu

Heraldo Richards

Heraldo Richards, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, College of Education
Associate Professor

B.A., 1975, University of Chicago; M.A., 1985, University of Michigan;
Ph.D., 1993, Northwestern University

Office: 118 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5620
Email:  hrichards@tnstate.edu

John David Tiller

John David Tiller, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

B.S., 1973, Gardner-Webb College; M.R.E., 1978,
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary; Ed.D. 2000, 
Tennessee State University

Office: 214A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5457
Email:  jtiller01@tnstate.edu 

Celeste Williams

Celeste Williams, Ed.D.

B.S., 1987, Guilford College; M.S., 1995,
Ed.D. 2001, Tennessee State University

Office: 211C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5474 Email:  cwilliams@tnstate.edu  






top of page

webpage contact:
Teaching and Learning