Parking and Traffic Regulations
Parking Rules & Permits
TRAFFIC AND PARKING RULES
Parking and traffic policies are applicable to all students, faculty and staff, contractual employees, and visitors to Tennessee State University’s campuses. Students are required to obey this policy as a condition of attendance at Tennessee State University. Faculty, staff and contractual employees are required to obey them as a condition of employment or contractual agreement. Violation of parking and traffic policies subjects the vehicle to be ticketed and towed at the owner’s expense.
The motor vehicle laws of the State of Tennessee are in effect on campus and other Tennessee State University property.
Faculty, staff, students, contractual employees, and visitors are expected to know and comply with the State motor vehicle laws, the traffic ordinances of Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County, and the Tennessee State University Parking and Traffic Regulations.
The maximum speed limit on all campus drives, roads and streets is 15 mph unless otherwise posted.
The driving of vehicles on campus walks and lawns is prohibited except when special permission has been granted by the Parking Services Office, Campus Police or Facilities Management Department for emergency conditions.
Pedestrians shall be given the right-of-way at all crosswalks or when in compliance with existing traffic controls.
The moving of or driving around an authorized barricade shall not be permitted.
Operators of vehicles shall comply with all traffic signs directing the movement of vehicles in parking lots and streets at the University.
The Gentry Center Complex and Indoor Practice Facility parking lots will be utilized for overflow parking. Shuttle services will be available through Facilities Management.
Parking of vehicles, motorcycles and small cars in odd-shaped spaces or areas not marked for parking is prohibited.
Disabled spaces are reserved and enforced 24 hours, 7 days per week. A TSU-issued disabled permit is required along with a state-issued disabled placard to park in disabled parking space on university property.
Students, faculty and staff who own and/or operate a vehicle on campus must register the vehicle with the Parking Services Office.
The registrant of a parking permit will be responsible for parking violations received on any vehicle bearing his/her parking permit. Permits may only be used by the permit holder registered with Parking Services.
The acceptance by any person of a parking permit (hangtag or decal), whether temporary or permanent, shall constitute the acceptance of the regulations, ordinances, and/or laws governing the safe and responsible operation and parking of a vehicle on the campuses or property of Tennessee State University.
A vehicle is not considered registered unless the assigned parking permit (hangtag or decal) is properly display in the vehicle.
Students must be registered for classes and registration confirmed before obtaining a parking permit. The general access fee pays for student’s first parking permit.
Failing to register a vehicle(s) or to display a current parking permit thereon is subject to denial to access the campus, a citation or towing of vehicle at owner’s expense.
Registration of any vehicle shall be in only one name.
Providing erroneous information when registering a vehicle is subject to penalty.
Altering or counterfeiting any parking permit shall be subject to a penalty.
Upon issuance of a new license plate, the person in whose name a vehicle is registered at the University shall report the new license number to the Parking Services office within seven (7) days after issuance.
The fee for general parking permits (hangtags) as of June 2016 per academic year is $60.00 for faculty, staff, contractual or temporary employees and employees of contracted services on campus. Payment of fees will be made online or in the Bursar’s Office located in the McWherter Administration Building (Main Campus). A cashier’s receipt or online receipt must be presented when obtaining a parking permit.
Parking permits are valid from September 1 to August 31.
Parking permits will be issued at the Parking Services Office or other designated locations.
All automobiles on both Tennessee State University campuses are required to be registered and display a current parking permit.
Expired parking permits should be removed before new permits are displayed.
A vehicle is not considered properly registered unless the assigned parking permit (hangtag or decal) is properly displayed in the vehicle.
Parking permits must be clearly visible and unobstructed on the vehicle to avoid receiving a citation.
Motorcycle permits should be affixed to the front or rear of the motorcycle and be clearly visible.
Student parking decals must be properly affixed to the inside front windshield in the lower left corner (driver’s side) by midnight of the first Friday of the week that classes begin. The decal must be permanently affixed to the vehicle to be valid.
Faculty, staff, and administrators parking permits must be properly hung on the front rearview mirror and properly displayed no later than the third workday after becoming a staff member.
Improperly displayed parking permits or failure to display a current parking permit will be considered a parking violation and will be cited accordingly.
All parking permits are the property of Tennessee State University. No vehicle may be parked on university property unless the appropriate parking permit is properly displayed. Permits are to be returned immediately upon termination of employment, when a student is no longer registered for classes, or at the request of the University.
Students, faculty and staff are at no time considered visitors and may not utilize visitor permits or visitor parking spaces. Violators are subject to disciplinary actions or fines.
Parking permits are NOT transferable from person to person. Any citation(s) issued under the permit is the responsibility of the permit holder regardless if someone else was in possession of the permit or vehicle. However, parking permits are transferrable to any other vehicle owned or operated by the permit holder provided they have registered the vehicle in the parking management system.
Upon proof that the original parking permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed, a replacement permit will be issued upon payment of a replacement fee.
Disabled persons who are considered students must present official certification from their home state to obtain a TSU disabled parking permit to park in all campus parking lots where spaces are marked and reserved for disabled persons. The TSU disabled parking permit and the state-issued disabled placard must be hung together on the rear view mirror of the vehicle. Note: The TSU disabled permit must be placed in front of the state-issued disabled placard.
Disabled persons who are considered faculty, staff and other employees are required to provide official certification and purchase a TSU disabled parking permit in order to park in all campus parking lots here spaces are marked and reserved for disabled persons. The TSU disabled parking permit and the state-issued disabled placard must be hung together on the rear view mirror of the vehicle. Note: The TSU disabled permit must be placed in front of the state-issued disabled placard.
Parking privileges in University-owned parking lots on campus are available upon application to eligible members of the faculty, staff, contractual employees, student body, or visitors, subject to provisions set forth.
Parking on Campus:
a. Faculty, staff and students are required to register their vehicles with the Parking Services Office within three (3) days after their vehicle is brought on campus. Not registering the vehicle may prevent access to certain campus areas.
b. Students residing on campus are to use only the restricted resident hall parking areas assigned to them.
c. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the operator of the vehicle. The inability to locate a convenient parking space is not an excuse for violating University parking regulations.
d. The acceptance of a parking permit, temporary or permanent, by any individual shall constitute the acceptance of the responsibility to observe and abide by all parking regulations.
e. The University reserves the right to temporarily close any campus parking lot area for University purposes which will make them temporarily unavailable to permit holders. In such instances, advance notice shall be given when possible.
a. Parking is prohibited any place on campus other than those areas which have been designated for parking and/or identified by signs controlling their use.
b. Parking is prohibited at or in crosswalks, building entrances, fire hydrants, fire lanes and other areas posted “No Parking” or “No Parking at Any Time” or marked by yellow lines or yellow painted curbs. Vehicles in violation may be ticketed and towed away at the owner’s expense.
c. Taking a motor vehicle into any University building is prohibited except where a shop or garage is specifically designated for the purpose of vehicle repair or storage.
d. Fire lanes/zones must always be kept clear to allow appropriate response from emergency personnel if necessary. Fire lanes on the University campuses are designated by one or more of the following ways:
1) “Fire Lane” painted on the pavement
2) Signage indicating “Fire Lane
3) Yellow painted curbs, or
4) Yellow painted diagonal lines on pavement.
a. Motorists cannot park by backing in or head on positions.
b. Parking over or across stall marker lines, where such lines are provided, is subject to penalty for improper parking.
c. Parking without the appropriate permit in all lots is subject to penalties, which may include fines, ticketing, and towing.
d. Tennessee State University assumes no liability or responsibility for damage to any vehicle parked in any University parking area.
a. All visitors are required to obtain a visitor’s parking permit. Occasional visitors on campus shall come by the Parking Services Office or visit the security booth located at the intersection of John A. Merritt and 33rd Avenue North to register their vehicles and to receive a visitor permit and information on parking.
b. Visitors who have frequent occasion to visit the campus on business may apply for a visitor’s parking permit. The application should be written in form (it shall be the discretion of the Associate Vice President for Administration whether or not these visitors should be charged a registration fee).
c. Visitors enrolled in short courses for more than a week in duration should be considered as students and should purchase a special parking permit.
d. Visitor parking permits must be placed on the dashboard on the driver’s side of the vehicle, clearly visible and unobstructed to be properly displayed.
University Owned Vehicles
a. Operators of university-owned vehicles are subject to all University parking and traffic regulations.
b. Such vehicles are not required to display a university parking permit. These vehicles may be parked in any of the
parking lots but operators are advised in a manner whereas unnecessary space will not be occupied.
c. Parking of an authorized vehicle in an unauthorized area will subject the violator to a penalty and/or having the vehicle
All parking citations must be paid prior to class registration. A registration hold will be placed on student account with an outstanding balance.
Receiving three (3) citations within a period of one semester may result in suspension of the operator’s privileges of operating or parking his/her vehicle on campus for the remainder of the school year. The vehicle involved will be placed on a towing list and subsequently towed from campus anytime it is parked on campus during the period of suspension. A letter acknowledging such a suspension, or further violations after the suspension is effective, will be sent to the appropriate dean or supervisor of the person involved.
Collection of Fines
All fines must be paid at the Bursar’s Office during the hours of 8:30 am to 3:30 pm Monday through Friday unless the university is operating on a special schedule.
Fines assessed against students, unless paid as herein provided, will be charged to the individual student’s account with the University and treated in the same manner as any other debt due to the University.
Fines assessed against faculty, staff other employees, unless paid as herein provided, will result in collections.
Failure to Pay Fines
A student cannot register for classes, receive grades or transcripts until all outstanding obligations to the University are paid. The amount of the penalty may be added to the student’s fees at registration.
The amount of the fine may be deducted from the paycheck of the University employee, pursuant to the Tennessee Board of Regent’s guidelines.
Habitual and flagrant violators of the regulations will be referred to the Office of Student Conduct and Mediation Services.
Appeal of Parking/Traffic Citation
Filing an appeal to a citation allows the individual to demonstrate the citation is invalid. The person filing an appeal will assume the burden of showing why the appropriate enforcement action should not have taken place.
Initial Review of Appeal
The first level of review of an appeal is with the appeals officer within the Parking Services Office. The appeals officer shall review all appeals filed online that meet the ten (10) day deadline. Appeals filed with the appeals officer will be reviewed within 15 working days, or 30 working days during major special events.
Parking and Traffic Committee
The second level of appeal is with the university's Parking and Traffic Committee. The committee consists of representatives from the faculty, staff, and student body. This committee has been established to review appeals that have been denied or reduced by the appeals officer. The Parking and Traffic Committee shall set forth the grounds on which the appealing party believes the decision was improper or inequitable.
An appellant whose appeal has been denied or reduced may file a second appeal online to the Parking and Traffic Committee within ten (10) days of the date of the appeals officer's decision. Second appeal requests shall include all information required in the initial appeal plus any additional information the appellant wishes to include. Final disposition by the committee shall be understood to mean a ruling in which the committee affirms, modifies, or reverses a decision of the appeals officer. The decision of the Parking and Traffic Committee is final. The appellant will receive the decision of the committee via email.
Motorized Vehicle Usage on Campus
Electric Personal Assistive Mobility Devices (EPAMDs, aka. Segways)
All EPAMDs must be operated in a safe and respectful manner and in compliance to the rules and regulations contained in this policy.
Registration of all EPAMDs (aka. Segway, Electronic Boards and Motor Chairs) users is required for all users, including students, visitors and employees and will include a letter to operate to be carried by the operator of the EPAMD.
At the time of registration, students and visitors shall request a copy of the written safety procedures and will be required to sign a document stating that they have received the registration and procedures. For individuals who use their own EPAMD on University business (e.g. traveling between classes), registration and hands-on training for these individuals is required.
At the time of registration, University employees who may be using a University-controlled and owned EPAMD as a part of their job responsibilities will receive hands-on training by Transportation Services or the designee by Emergency Management.
These devices are restricted to sidewalks only, but shall use crosswalks to cross roads.
The riding of EPAMDs inside buildings is prohibited, except as specifically authorized by the President or designee. They shall be stored in areas that do not block egress or access. They are not permitted to be stored in building lobbies, stairwells, stair towers, corridors and ramps inside or outside of buildings or lined parking spaces. EPAMDs may be walked inside buildings to approved and designated storage and/or charging areas.
Tennessee State University will consider the request of any faculty, student, or staff person wanting to use the EPAMD inside of buildings as a reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Students seeking to use an EPAMD inside a building as a reasonable accommodation must contact the Office of Disability Services (ODS), which is located in Kean Hall (615-963-7400) to provide the appropriate information in connection with the accommodation request. Faculty and staff shall contact the Office of Equity and Inclusion to seek an accommodation.
4. Operation of EPAMDs for Students, Faculty and Staff
Regarding operating speeds, persons shall operate at a speed that is reasonable and prudent under the conditions having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing.
When in use between sunset and sunrise, EPAMDs shall be equipped with - on the front, a lamp, which emits a beam of white light intended to illuminate the operators path and visible for a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, a red reflector facing to the rear which shall be visible at least 500 feet to the rear and amber reflector to each side. A lamp or lamps worn by the operator shall comply with these requirements.
Operators shall not wear or use headphones or earphones except one earphone for a cellular telephone may be worn.
The Office of Parking Services will be responsible to register EPAMDs used on campus and maintain registration records. The Office of Parking Services will jointly develop written safety procedures with Environmental Health and Safety, Emergency Management and University Police and provide training on safe use of EPAMDs.
Risk Management will compile and follow-up as appropriate all non-employee accident reports involving EPAMDs and provide EHS with copies.
Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) will review all procedures and reports to periodically monitor incidents, trends and usage of items under this policy, including EPAMDs, and recommend appropriate changes.
Supervisors (department chairs, faculty and other employees with direct oversight of University employees, including students) will ensure that each employee or student under their supervision or oversight who uses an EPAMD on campus will comply with the registration, training and usage requirements of this policy. This also includes the reporting of all accidents to University Police or Worker's Compensation reports, if injured at work.
Operators of EPAMDs on Tennessee State University property will ensure that they register these units and follow the use requirements of this policy.
For students and visitors, the Office of Disability Services (ODS) will be the office responsible for maintaining documentation pertaining to requests to use EPAMDs inside buildings as specified herein.
For employees, the Office of Equity and Inclusion will be responsible for maintaining such documentation.
The Coordinator of ADA Programs in the Office of Equity and Inclusion will be responsible for maintaining documentation pertaining to requests to use EPAMDs inside buildings as specified herein.
6. Hoverboards are not permitted to be stored on campus.
Skateboards, Scooters, In-Line Skates/Roller Skates, and Similar Devices
The use of skateboards on campus is prohibited except in designated areas. Roller skates, in-line skates, scooters (excluding medical), sleds, and similar coasting devices are not vehicles and are prohibited in roadways. Persons on such devices are pedestrians for traffic control purposes and may be cited for applicable violations of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code.
No person shall coast or ride upon any roller skates, in-line skates, scooter, sled, or similar device upon any roadway, parking area, or bicycle route, or within any building on the campus. Nor shall any person coast or ride upon any sled or similar device upon any sidewalk or improved surface used only for pedestrian traffic. Persons may coast or ride upon roller skates, in-line skates or scooters on sidewalks, provided they yield the right-of-way to pedestrians on foot. No acrobatics of any kind are permitted.
Students or employees violating these regulations are subject to disciplinary actions or fines by the University. Any other persons violating these prohibitions may be cited for Criminal Trespassing for continued or repeated violations of these regulations on the campus.