Faculty


  Photo to come

Corey Barwick, PhD
Assistant Professor of Political Science

Fields: American Politics, Public Law, Research Methodology

Contact: 413B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-6342, cbarwick@tnstate.edu

 

faculty

Gashawbeza Bekele, PhD
Assistant Professor of Geography

Fields: Human Geography, Geography of Africa, Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Contact: 413C Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5499, gbekele@tnstate.edu


 

MBertrand

Michael Bertrand, PhD 
Associate Professor of History

Fields: 20th Century US History, New South, History of Race, Music, and Popular Culture

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-1376, mbertrand@tnstate.edu

 

 

  Photo to come

Pamela Bobo, MA
Instructor of History

Fields: US History, Tennessee History 

Contact: 210B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-2573, pbobo@tnstate.edu

 
   faculty  

Keisha A. Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor of History

Fields: Asian Studies, World History, Race and Ethnicity 

Contact: 210B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5000, kbrow110@tnstate.edu

 

   -   back to top   -

 

   Photo to come

Sheri Browne, PhD 
Professor of History

Fields: US History, American Women's History, Women's Studies

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5505, sbrowne@tnstate.edu

 
   tcorse

Theron Corse, PhD
Associate Professor of History

Fields: Latin American History, World History

Contact: 406A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-7457, tcorse@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Elizabeth Dachowski, PhD 
Professor of History 

Fields:  Ancient, Medieval, and Early Modern European History; World History 

Contact: 413D Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5507, edachowski@tnstate.edu

www.tnstate.edu/faculty/edachowski 

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come    

Joel Dark, PhD
Professor of History

Fields:  Modern European History

Contact: 112 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5516, jdark@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

K. T. Ewing, PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields:  African American History, US History, Women and Gender 

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-6741, ktewing@tnstate.edu

 
 faculty

Daniel Gibran, PhD
Professor of Political Science

Fields: International Relations and Security, International Political Economy

Contact: 209 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5650, dgibran@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Sekhmet Maat (McAllister), PhD
Assistant Professor of Africana Studies

Fields: African Centered Theory, African Spirituality

Contact: 207 Elliott Hall, [phone tba], cmcalli1@tnstate.edu

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come    

John Miglietta, PhD
Professor of Political Science

Fields:International Politics, Middle East Politics

Contact: 211 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5515, jmiglietta@tnstate.edu

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come  

Kyle Murray, PhD
Instructor

Fields: Global Political Economy, International Relations Theory and History, US History

Contact: 209A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-1394, kmurra10@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Adebayo Oyebade, PhD
Department Chair,  Professor of History


Fields:  African and African Diaspora History, US History

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5506, aoyebade@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

David Padgett, PhD
Associate Professor of Geography 

Fields:  Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Environmental Justice 

Contact: 213 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5508, dpadgett@tnstate.edu

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come  

Jyotsna Paruchuri, PhD  
Professor of Political Science 

Fields:  Political Philosophy, Comparative Government 

Contact: 211A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5509, jparuchuri@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come     

Andrew Patrick, PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields:  Middle Eastern History, US History, World History, Teacher Education

Contact: 413D Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5742, apatric2@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Brian Russell, PhD 
Assistant Professor of Political Science

Fields:  American Politics 

Contact: 215 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-4930, brussell7@tnstate.edu

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come  

Erik Schmeller, PhD 
Professor of History

Fields:Early US History, British History 

Contact: 210A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5510, eschmeller@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Bethany Stollar, MA
Instructor of History

Fields: US History, Global History

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-2139, bstollar@tnstate.edu

 
faculty

Kevin Vanzant, PhD
Lecturer of History

Fields:Early US History 

Contact: 413A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-7554, kvanzant@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Morgan Veraluz, PhD  
Lecturer of History

Fields: US History, Borderlands History, Native American History  

Contact: 413E Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5514, mveraluz@tnstate.edu

 
   -   back to top   -

 

Photo to come  

Learotha Williams, Jr., PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields: US History, African American History, Public History 

Contact: 320 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5513, lwilli22@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Bradley Wright, PhD 
Lecturer of History

Fields: Modern Mexico, US History, Public History

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-2139, bwrigh24@tnstate.edu

 
   Photo to come

Wosene Yefru, PhD 
Professor of Africana Studies

Fields:  African Studies, African Family and Community 

Contact: 201C Elliott Hall, (615) 963-7462, wyefru@tnstate.edu

 

 

Part-time Faculty

Photo to come

Kalonji McClellan, MA
Instructor

Fields:  Genealogy, Teaching and Learning 
Africana Studies 

Contact: 201 Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5583

 
Photo to come

Griff Watson, DA
Instructor

Fields: US History, Teacher Education 

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5503, gwatson@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Cydya Williams, MA
Instructor

Fields:  Teaching and Learning, Africana Studies
Africana Studies 

Contact: 201 Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5583, cjackson3@tnstate.edu

 

 

 

-   back to top   -

 

 

Recently Retired Faculty

James Haney, PhD 
Associate Professor of History
African American History

Hoyt King, PhD
Associate Professor of Political Science. American Government, American Legislative Process, Black Politics, Urban Politics

Bobby L. Lovett, PhD 
Professor of History
African American History, State and Local History

Elizabeth McClain, MS
Assistant Professor of History
African American History, Civil Rights

Gloria McKissack, MA
Instructor of History
American History, African American History, Civil Rights

Mayibuye Monanabela, PhD
Professor of Africana Studies

back to top >