Faculty and Staff

chem


 

Dr. Ghan S. Bhatt, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University
Office:      PMB 315A
Phone:     (615) 963 2530
Email:     gbhatt@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Applied Mathematics, Wavelets, Frames

Dr. Kothandaraman Ganesan, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Office:     PMB 316E
Phone:     (615) 963 5862
Email:     kganesan@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry

Dr. Patricio Jara, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Office:     PMB 315B
Phone:     (615) 963 5860
Email:     pjara AT tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Functional and Numerical Analysis

Dr. Mozhgan Mirani, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Office:     PMB 315D
Phone:     (615) 963 5865
Email:     mmirani@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Algebraic Topology, Category Theory, Using Technology in
Teaching Mathematics

Dr. Jean-Claude Pedjeu, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The University of South Florida
Office: PMB 245F
Phone (615) 963 5853
Email: jpedjeu@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Stochastic Modeling and Analysis, Data Science, and Global Warming

Dr. Sivapragasam Sathananthan, Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington
Office:     RSP 255
Phone:     (615) 963 1618
Email:     ssathananthan@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Stochastic Control, Computational Methods

Dr. George Yang, Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland College Park
Office:     PMB 315E
Phone:     (615) 963 7489
Email:     gyang@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Wavelets, Differential Equations

Dr. Dorjsuren Badamdorj, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Office:     PMB 315C
Phone:     (615) 963 2505
Email:     dbadamdo@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Mathematical Modeling, Math-Biology

Dr. Jeanetta Jackson, Professor
Ed.D., Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 316B
Phone:     (615) 963 5869
Email:     jwilliams@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Mathematics Education

Dr. Nolan McMurray, Jr., Professor
Department Head
Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Office:     PMB 305
Phone     (615) 963 5811
Email:     nmcmurra@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Matroid Theory, Graph Theory, Combinatorics and
Mathematics Education

Dr. Wanda Payne, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Office: PMB 245E
Phone: (615) 963 5816
Email: wpayne1@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Graph Theory, Mathematics Education

Dr. Michael Reed, Professor
Coordinator of the Mathematics Program
Ph.D., The University of Arkansas
Office:     PMB 316D
Phone:     (615) 963 5865
Email:     mreed4@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Commutative Algebra, Algebraic Geometry

Dr. Martene Stanberry, Associate Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Office:     PMB 245B
Phone:     (615) 963 5865
Email:     mfair@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Applied Mathematics, Control Theory, Mathematics Education

Physics and Astronomy Faculty
Dr. Orville Bignall, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Florida State University
Office:     PMB 145B
Phone:     (615) 963 5870
Email:     obignall@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Radon measurement, Physics Education Research

Dr. John Kelly, Associate Professor
Coordinator of the Physics Program
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Office:     PMB 140E
Phone:     (615) 963 5846
Email:     jkelly8@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Condensed Matter Physics focused on x-ray analysis of materials

Dr. Moinuddin Sarkar, Professor
Ph.D., Kent State University
Office:     PMB 316C
Phone:     (615) 963 5850
Email:     msarkar@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Phase Transitions, Liquid Crystals, Radiation Damage

Dr. Lizhi Ouyang, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri-Kansas City
Office:     PMB 140F
Phone:     (615) 963 7764
Email:     louyang@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Interface physics and chemistry, Multiscale modeling of
composite material, and Electronic structure and properties of biomolecule 

Mr. Manuch Akbari, Instructor
M.S., University of Memphis
Office:     PMB 140
Phone:     (615) 963 5578
Email:     makbari@tnstate.edu

Mr. Edward Bowers
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 138
Phone:     (615) 963 7635
Email:     ebowers@tnstate.edu

Mr. Ben Celso
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 138
Phone:     (615) 963 7635
Email:     bcelso01@my.tnstate.edu

Ms. Barbara Mullaney
M.S. Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 140
Phone:     (615) 963 5857
Email:     bmullaney@tnstate.edu

Dr. Geoffrey S. Burks, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Office:     PMB 140C/RSP255
Phone:     (615) 963 7967/1622
Email:     gburks@tnstate.edu
Research Interests:  Variable stars, the Galactic Halo, and the intergalactic medium
(the gas between galaxies) on the astronomy side.

Dr. Matthew Muterspaugh, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Office:     PMB 140D/RSP248
Phone:     (615) 963 2147
Email:     matthew1@coe.tsuniv.edu
Research Interests:  Palomar Testbed Interferometer,  Externally Dispersed
Interferometry, and The Attempt To Observe Outer-planets In Non-single-stellar Environments

Dr. Govindaswamy Nagarajan, Professor
Ph.D., Annamalai University
Office:     PMB 245A
Phone:     (615) 963 7990
Email:     gnagarajan@tnstate.edu
Research Interests: Molecular physics, Quantum physics, Thermodynamics, Spectroscopy

Dr. Nekpen Aihie, Instructor
Ed.D., Tennessee State University
Office:     LRC 212
Phone:     (615) 963 5585
Email:     naihie01@tnstate.edu

Mr. Mohammad Arbabshirani, Instructor
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     LRC 317
Phone:     (615) 963 5462
Email:     marbabshirani@tnstate.edu

Mr. Mohammad Arbabshirani, Instructor
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     LRC 317
Phone:     (615) 963 5462
Email:     marbabshirani@tnstate.edu

Ms. Margie Inman
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 138
Phone:     (615) 963 7635
Email:     minman@tnstate.edu

Mrs. Mathulani Sathananthan, Instructor
M.S., Tennessee State University
Office:     PMB 245C
Phone:     (615) 963 5864
Email:     msathananthan@tnstate.edu

Faculty Emeritus

Dr. Raymond Richardson, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Phone:     (615) 963 5811
Email:     rrichardson@tnstate.edu

 


Search for Courses 

Academic Calendar

Undergraduate Catalog 

Graduate Catalog



Frequently Asked Questions



Apply Now!


 

 

 

 



Nolan McMurray, Jr., Ph.D
Department Chair
Department of Mathematical Sciences
(615) 963-5811

 

Biological Sciences
(615) 963-5681

Chemistry
(615) 963-5321

Mathematical Sciences
(615) 963-5811

College of Life and Physical Sciences
(615) 963-5501