Faculty & Staff

Mathematics and Statistics

bhatt

 

Dr. Ghan S. Bhatt, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Iowa State University

  • Office:     PMB 315A
  • Phone:     (615) 963 2530
  • Email:     gbhatt@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Applied Mathematics, Wavelets, Frames

 

dorj

 

Dr. Dorjsuren Badamdorj, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

  • Office:     PMB 315C
  • Phone:     (615) 963 2505
  • Email:     dbadamdo@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Mathematical Modeling, Math-Biology

 

Ganesan

 

Dr. Kothandaraman Ganesan, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago

  • Office:     PMB 316E
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5862
  • Email:     kganesan@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry

 

J

 

Dr. Jeanetta Jackson, Professor
Ed.D., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 316B
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5869
  • Email:     jwilliams@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Mathematics Education

 

jara

 

Dr. Patricio Jara, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University

  • Office:     PMB 315B
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5860
  • Email:     pjara AT tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Functional and Numerical Analysis
  • Homepage

 

 Dr. McMurray

Dr. Nolan McMurray, Jr., Professor
Department Head
Ph.D., University of Mississippi

  • Office:     PMB 305
  • Phone     (615) 963 5811
  • Email:     nmcmurra@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Matroid Theory, Graph Theory, Combinatorics and Mathematics Education

 

Mirani

 

Dr. Mozhgan Mirani, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

  • Office:     PMB 315D
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5865
  • Email:     mmirani@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Algebraic Topology, Category Theory, Using Technology in Teaching Mathematics

 

 Dr. Wanda Payne

Dr. Wanda Payne, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi

  • Office: PMB 245E
  • Phone: (615) 963 5816
  • Email: wpayne1@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Graph Theory, Mathematics Education

 Dr. Jean-Claude Pedjeu

Dr. Jean-Claude Pedjeu, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The University of South Florida

  • Office: PMB 245F
  • Phone (615) 963 5853
  • Email: jpedjeu@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Stochastic Modeling and Analysis, Data Science, and Global Warming

Reed

 

Dr. Michael Reed, Professor
Coordinator of the Mathematics Program
Ph.D., The University of Arkansas

  • Office:     PMB 316D
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5865
  • Email:     mreed4@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Commutative Algebra, Algebraic Geometry

 

ssatha

 

Dr. Sivapragasam Sathananthan, Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington

  • Office:     RSP 255
  • Phone:     (615) 963 1618
  • Email:     ssathananthan@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Stochastic Control, Computational Methods

 

mar

 

Dr. Martene Stanberry, Associate Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

  • Office:     PMB 245B
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5865
  • Email:     mfair@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Applied Mathematics, Control Theory, Mathematics Education

y

 

Dr. George Yang, Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland College Park

  • Office:     PMB 315E
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7489
  • Email:     gyang@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Wavelets, Differential Equations

 

 Physics and Astronomy Faculty

bignall

 

Dr. Orville Bignall, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Florida State University

  • Office:     PMB 145B
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5870
  • Email:     obignall@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Radon measurement, Physics Education Research

 

burks

 

Dr. Geoffrey S. Burks, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago

  • Office:     PMB 140C/RSP255
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7967/1622
  • Email:     gburks@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests:  Variable stars, the Galactic Halo, and the intergalactic medium (the gas between galaxies) on the astronomy side.

 

Kelly

 

Dr. John Kelly, Associate Professor
Coordinator of the Physics Program
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

  • Office:     PMB 140E
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5846
  • Email:     jkelly8@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Condensed Matter Physics focused on x-ray analysis of materials

 

matthew

 

Dr. Matthew Muterspaugh, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Office:     PMB 140D/RSP248
  • Phone:     (615) 963 2147
  • Email:     matthew1@coe.tsuniv.edu
  • Research Interests:  Palomar Testbed Interferometer,  Externally Dispersed Interferometry, and The Attempt To Observe Outer-planets In Non-single-stellar Environments

s

 

Dr. Moinuddin Sarkar, Professor
Ph.D., Kent State University

  • Office:     PMB 316C
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5850
  • Email:     msarkar@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Phase Transitions, Liquid Crystals, Radiation Damage

n

 

Dr. Govindaswamy Nagarajan, Professor
Ph.D., Annamalai University

  • Office:     PMB 245A
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7990
  • Email:     gnagarajan@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Molecular physics, Quantum physics, Thermodynamics, Spectroscopy

 

o

 

Dr. Lizhi Ouyang, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri-Kansas City

  • Office:     PMB 140F
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7764
  • Email:     louyang@tnstate.edu
  • Research Interests: Interface physics and chemistry, Multiscale modeling of composite material, and Electronic structure and properties of biomolecule

Instructors

 Gauss

Dr. Nekpen Aihie, Instructor
Ed.D., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     LRC 212
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5585
  • Email:     naihie01@tnstate.edu
 Gauss

Mr. Manuch Akbari, Instructor
M.S., University of Memphis

  • Office:     PMB 140
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5578
  • Email:     makbari@tnstate.edu
 Gauss

Mr. Mohammad Arbabshirani, Instructor
M.S., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     LRC 317
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5462
  • Email:     marbabshirani@tnstate.edu
 Gauss

Mr. Edward Bowers
M.S., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 138
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7635
  • Email:     ebowers@tnstate.edu
 Gauss

Mr. Ben Celso
M.S., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 138
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7635
  • Email:     bcelso01@my.tnstate.edu
 Agnesi

Ms. Margie Inman
M.S., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 138
  • Phone:     (615) 963 7635
  • Email:     minman@tnstate.edu
 Agnesi

Ms. Barbara Mullaney
M.S. Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 140
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5857
  • Email:     bmullaney@tnstate.edu

Msath

 

Mrs. Mathulani Sathananthan, Instructor
M.S., Tennessee State University

  • Office:     PMB 245C
  • Phone:     (615) 963 5864
  • Email:     msathananthan@tnstate.edu

 

Faculty Emeritus

rich

 

Dr. Raymond Richardson, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

  • Phone:     (615) 963 5811
  • Email:     rrichardson@tnstate.edu

 






webpage contact:
Mathematics and Physics