Faculty and Staff

 



HPSS faculty 2017

 

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Department of Human Performance
and Sport Sciences

Tennessee State University
Gentry Center Athletic Complex
3500 John A. Merritt Blvd
Box 9549
Nashville, TN  37209-1561

Voice: (615) 963-5581
Fax:    (615) 963-5594
www.tnstate.edu/hpss

 

 


 

 Heimdal2

James Heimdal, Ph.D.,  Department Chair

Associate Professor
Exercise Physiology and Cardiovascular Health

Office: Gentry Center, 332
Telephone: (615) 963-2172

Email me:  jheimdal@tnstate.edu 

 Spurlock 2018  

Rosa S. Spurlock, Administrative Assistant III

Department Administrative Assistant 
Office: Gentry Center, 323
Telephone:  (615) 963-5581
Fax: (615) 963-5594

Email me:  rspurlock@tnstate.edu

Boyd 2017

Agnes Boyd, M.A.

Instructor
Physical Education

Office: Gentry Center, 317
Telephone: (615) 963-5605

Email me:    aboyd@tnstate.edu

Cochrum 2017

Robbie Cochrum, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Sport Science
Office: Gentry Center, 325 
Telephone: (615)-963-5986

Email me:  rcochrum@tnstate.edu

 

Dickson 2017

Poliala Dickson, Ph.D., CHES

Assistant Professor
Health Education and Health Promotion
Office: Gentry Center, 328
Telephone: (615) 963-5604

Email me:  pdickson@tnstate.edu

 Gibson 2017

Asha Gibson, M.S.

Athletic Coach/Instructor
Sport and Fitness

Office: Gentry Center, 309
Telephone: (615) 963-5897

Email me:   agibso13@tnstate.edu

 Essam Hamido Face

Essameldin Hamido, Ed.D., ISSA

Associate Professor
Sport 
Science & Adaptive Sports
Office: Gentry Center, 327
Telephone: (615) 963-5602

Email me:  ehamido@tnstate.edu

 Hamilton 2017

Harriet Hamilton, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Sport Administration

Office: Gentry Center, 331
Telephone:  (615) 963-5607

Email me:  hamillt1@tnstate.edu

Bill update 2018

William Johnson, Ph.D.,  Interim Assistant Dean

Professor 
Sport Management
Office: Clement Hall, 162
Telephone:  (615) 963-5927

Email me:  wjohnso7@tnstate.edu 

 HPSS Jones 2017

Tim Jones, Ed.D.

Associate Professor
Exercise Physiology and Sport Science

Office: Gentry Center, 330
Telephone: (615) 963-5610

Email me:  tjones@tnstate.edu 

Mayes 2017

 

Jennifer Mayes, M.S.

Instructor
Health and Wellness

Office: Gentry Center,  329
Telephone:  (615) 963-5599

Email me:  jmayes4@tnstate.edu

Smith 2017

Jason Smith, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor
Pedagogy

Office: Gentry Center,  322
Telephone:  (615) 963-2114

Email me:  jsmith66@tnstate.edu 

Moreno 2017 

 

Vanessa Moreno, M.S., CSCS*D, USAW 

Instructor
Exercise Science & Kinesiology

Office: Gentry Center, 308
Telephone:  (615) 963-5897

Email me:  vmoreno@tnstate.edu 

 

 

 

Hutchinson

Jamal Hutchinson, Ed.S.

Yoga Instructor / Adjunct
Office: Gentry Center, 214
Telephone: (615) 963-7524

Email me:  jhutci1@tnstate.edu or
                yogawithprofessa@gmail.com

 




 

 

 

 

 

   Physical location to Gentry:                 

From 28th Avenue turn onto Walter S. Davis Blvd. - the Howard C. Gentry Athletic Complex will be on your left. The Department office is located on the third floor of the Gentry Center Athletic Complex.

   

 

 







webpage contact:
Human Performance and Sports Sciences