Tutoring Workshops

Current List

Welcome! Below is a current list of upcoming workshops offered by the Learning Support Centers at TSU!

Writing Workshops

Reading Workshops

Math Workshops

Need a workshop in your department?

Interested in having us provide a workshop?
Please contact us at 615-963-5531 or
advisement@tnstate.edu

 

Workshop Schedule -- MATH 1110-College Algebra -- Spring 2018

 

DATE / DAYS

TIME

CHAPTERS/SECTIONS

LOCATION

INSTRUCTOR

Aug. 21, Wed

2:30 – 4 PM

Pre Assessment Review

SSC 316

TBD

Aug. 23 Thurs

2:30 – 4 PM

Pre Assessment Review

SSC 316

TBD

Aug. 28, Tues 

2:30 – 4 PM

Chap. 1: Sections 1 and 2

SSC 316

TBD

Aug. 30, Thurs

2:30 – 4 PM

Chap. 1: Sections 3 and 4

SSC 316

TBD

Sept. 4, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 1: Sections 5 and 6 SSC 316 TBD
Sept. 6, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 1: Sections 7 and 8 SSC 316 TBD
Sept. 11, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Post Assessment Review SSC 316 TBD
 Sept. 13, Thurs  2:30 – 4 PM  Post Assessment Review  SSC 316 TBD 
Sept. 18, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 2: Sections 1 and 2 SSC 316 TBD
Sept. 20, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 2: Sections 3 and 4 SSC 316 TBD
Sept. 25, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 2: sections 5 and 6 SSC 316 TBD
Sept. 27, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 2: Review Chap. 2 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 2, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 3: Sections 1 and 2 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 4, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 3: Sections 3 and 4 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 9, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 3: Section 5 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 11, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 3: Review Chap. 3 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 16, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 4: Section 1 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 18, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 4: Sections 2 and 6 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 23, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 4: Review Chap. 4 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 25, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 5: Section 1 SSC 316 TBD
Oct. 30, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 5: Section 3 SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 1, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 5: Section 5 SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 6, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM Chap. 5: Section 6 SSC 316 TBD
Nov, 8. Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM Chap.5: Review Chap. 5 SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 13, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM FINAL EXAM REVIEW SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 15, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM FINAL EXAM REVIEW SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 27, Tues 2:30 – 4 PM FINAL EXAM REVIEW SSC 316 TBD
Nov. 29, Thurs 2:30 – 4 PM FINAL EXAM REVIEW SSC 316 TBD

 

Writing Workshops

 

Date/Days Time Event Name Location Instructor
Sept. 12, Wed 10:00 - 11 AM The Journey to a $100,000 Scholarship Begins with a Single Sentence SSC 316 Mr. Turner
Sept. 20, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM Effective Prewriting Strategies SSC 316 Dr. Hassell
Sept. 27, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM ESL Conversation Group: Meet and Greet SSC 316 Ms. Danley
Oct. 3, Wed 10:00 - 11 AM Winning the Game of Life and College SSC 316 Mr. Turner
Oct. 11, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM Attacking Essay Questions SSC 316 Dr. Hassell
Oct. 18, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM Idea Development SSC 316 Dr. Hassell
Oct. 25, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM Using Sources Effectively and Responsibly SSC 316 Dr. Hassell
Oct. 29, Mon 11:00 - 12 AM More Scholarship Money, Less Debt SSC 316 Mr. Turner
Nov. 8, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM Writing Resumes SSC 316 Ms. Danley
Nov. 15, Thurs 3:00 - 4 PM ESL Conversation Group: Food SSC 316 Ms. Danley
Apr 1-30 8:00 - 4:30 PM Poetry Corps TBD

Ms. Danley &

Mr. Robles

 

 Reading Workshops

 

Date/Days Time Event Name Location Instructor
Sept. 10, Mon 9:35 - 10:30 AM Goal Setting & Time Management SSC 207 Dr. Patterson
Sept. 13, Thurs 11:10 - 12:05 AM/PM Goal Setting & Time Management SSC 207 Dr. Lukula
Sept. 18, Tues 11:10 - 12:05 AM/PM Learning Styles, Majors and Career SSC 207 Dr. Patterson
Sept. 19, Wed 11:10 - 12:05 AM/PM Learning Styles, Majors and Career SSC 207 Dr. Lukula
Sept. 24, Mon 2:20 - 3:15 PM Test Taking Strategies SSC 207 Dr. Lukula
Sept. 27, Thurs 9:35 - 10:30 AM Test Taking Strategies SSC 207 Dr. Nandzo
Oct. 8, Mon 12:45 - 1:40 PM Reading Strategies and Critical Thinking SSC 207 Dr. Patterson
Oct. 10, Wed 2:20 - 3:15 PM Reading Strategies and Critical Thinking SSC 207 Dr. Nandzo
Nov. 13, Tues 12:45 - 1:40 PM Research Your Term Paper SSC 317 Dr. Lukula
Nov. 14, Wed 12:45 - 1:40 PM Research Your Term Paper SSC 317 Dr. Lukula