Community Service Awards

For Students, Faculty, Staff & Community Partners

Hands cover

Each year, the University and The Center for Service Learning and Civic Engagement recognize individual students, a student organization, faculty, staff, community leaders, and community partners for outstanding contributions in the area of service!  In 2016, an award for the Outstanding Service-Learning Project is being instituted.

NOMINATIONS - are now open!  Click here to nominate someone, a community partner, or service-learning project for recognition.

Awards will be presented at the annual Community Service Awards Luncheon on April 21 in The Barn. 


The award categories are listed below and description of each award may be viewed by selecting the link below.  

The Dr. Sue Fuller Legacy of Service Award
The Community Partner Award
Undergraduate Student Service Award
Graduate Student Service Award
Alumnus/Alumna Service Award
Student Organization Award
Faculty Award for Exemplary Service-Learning
Faculty Engaged Scholar Award
Staff/Administrator Community Service Award
Outstanding Service-Learning Project (new 2016)
Community Partner Award


2012 Legacy of Service Award  
Dr. Deena Sue Fuller 
Sue Fuller
Dr. Sue Fuller Legacy of Service Award 
2015 Dr. Pamela Burch-Sims
Pam Burch-Sims
2014 U.S. Representative Jim Cooper
2013 State Senator Thelma Harper
Community Partner Awards   
2015 Feed the Children, The Little Pantry That Could, Pencil Foundation
2014 Friendship Missionary Baptist Church, Grace M. Eaton Center, Metropolitan-Nashville Public Schools
2013 Hands on Nashville
2012 Oasis Center
2011 MNPS Pearl-Cohn
2010 Preston Taylor Ministries

Undergraduate Student Award
2015 Ryan Gammon
Ryan Gammon
2014 Bryant Spear
2013 David Rawles
2012 Jasmine Shuler
2011 Linda Edwards
2010 Jana Leigh Wofford

Graduate Student Award
2015 Christopher Brooks
Christopher Brooks
2014 Sherri DeGraphenreed
2013 Larielle Taylor
2012 Brittany Sims
2011 Marlow L. Frazier
2010 Christina Gaines

Alumus/Alumna Award (New 2015)
2015 John Little (2006)
John Little

Student Organization Service Award
2015 Phi Beta Sigma
2014 TSU Student Government Association
2013 Collegiate 100
2011 Student Athlete Advisory Committee
2010 Student Tennessee Education Association
Faculty Award for Exemplary Service-Learning
2015 De'Etra Young
De'Etra Young 
2014 Dr. Revlon Briggs
2013 Dr. Deborah Edmondson
2012 Dr. Natalie Housel
2011 Dr. David Shen-Miller
2010 Dr. Tammy Lipsey

Faculty Engaged Scholar Award
2015 Dr. Blanche Glimps
Blanche Glimps
2014 Dr. William Johnson
2013 Dr. Sue Ballard de Ruiz
2012 Dr. Elizabeth Williams
2011 Ms. Stephen Penick
2010 Dr. Joan Popkin

Staff/Administrator Award
2015 Melvin Walker
Melvin Walker  
2014 Tanaka Vercher
2013 Dr. Keith Hargrove
2012 Patrice Elder
2011 Ronald G. Brooks & Facilities Management
2010 Carl Darnell