1. The motor vehicle laws of the state of Tennessee are in effect on Tennessee State University campuses. Parked vehicles that do not display a valid license plate will be ticketed and/or towed at the owner’s expense.
2. Faculty, staff, contractual employees, students and visitors are expected to know and comply with the State Motor Vehicle Laws, the traffic ordinances of Metropolitan/Nashville Davidson County, and the Tennessee State University traffic and parking regulations.
3. The maximum speed limit on all campus drives, roads, streets and parking lots is 15 mph unless otherwise posted.
4. Driving of motor vehicles on campus walks and lawns is prohibited except when special permission has been granted by the Facilities Management Department in emergency situations.
5. Pedestrians shall be given the right-of-way at all crosswalks or when in compliance with existing traffic controls.
6. Moving or driving around an authorized barricade is prohibited.
7. Operators of vehicles shall comply with all traffic signs in parking lots and on roads at the University.
8. Students, faculty, contractual employees, and staff who own and/or operates a vehicle on campus must register the vehicle with the TSU Police Department. Payments for permits are non-refundable and permits are non-transferable.
9. Students are to use only parking areas lined in white and designated "Student Parking." Faculty and staff are to use parking areas lined in blue and designated "Reserved Parking."
10. Designated spaces are provided for State certified handicapped persons whose automobiles display the authorized signs. However, TSU students and employees must register their vehicle and obtain an official TSU-issued handicapped hangtag.
Register Your Vehicle
PARKING CITATION PAYMENT PROCEDURES
- Payment may be made in person at the cashier's office, Monday-Friday between 8:30 AM and 3:30 PM. or mailed to: Tennessee State University, 3500 John A. Merritt Blvd, Nashville, TN 37209. Personal checks, money orders and cashiers checks only. DO NOT MAIL CASH.
- The citation number, located in the top right corner of the ticket, must be printed on the check/money order or the ticket must be included with payment.
Appeals must be filed within 10 days from date from date listed on ticket at the information desk, Floyd-Payne Campus Center, (615) 963-5310. Failure will result in a hold being placed on your account, which will result in your inability to register, receive, transcripts or graduate units, the ticket is paid.The form used to file an appeal can be obtained at the link below:
PARKING APPEAL FORM
All vehicles parked on campus must have a campus parking permit and must comply with the state registration requirements. Parking permits must be obtained at the campus police department.
REPEAT OFFENSES DOUBLE THE FINE