Faculty


Full-Time Faculty

Gashawbeza Bekele (Ph.D., West Virginia University, 2007)
Assistant Professor of Geography
Cultural, Political, and Economic Geography, Geography of Africa, Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
413C Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5499
gbekele@tnstate.edu

Michael Bertrand (Ph.D., University of Memphis, 1995)
Associate Professor of History
American History, Modern (20th Century) American History, New South, History of Race, Music, and Popular Culture
220 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-1376
mbertrand@tnstate.edu

Pamela Bobo (M.Ed., Tennessee State University, 1998)
Instructor
American History, Tennessee History
208 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-2573
pbobo@tnstate.edu

Sheri Browne (Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2002)
Professor of History
American History, 19th Century American History, American Women's History, Women's Studies
220 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5505
sbrowne@tnstate.edu

Theron Corse (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 1995)
Associate Professor of History
Latin American History, World History
406A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-7457
tcorse@tnstate.edu

Elizabeth Dachowski (Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1995)
Professor of History
Ancient, Medieval, Early Modern European, and World History
413D Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5507
edachowski@tnstate.edu

Joel Dark (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 1998)
Professor of History
Modern European History
112 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5516
jdark@tnstate.edu

Daniel Gibran (Ph.D., University of Aberdeen, Scotland, 1990)
Professor of Political Science
International Relations Theory, International Security, International Political Economy
209 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5650
dgibran@tnstate.edu

Hoyt King (Ph.D., West Virginia University, 1976)
Associate Professor of Political Science
American Government, American Legislative Process, Black Politics, Urban Politics
320 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5502
hking@tnstate.edu

John Miglietta (Ph.D., New York University, 1995)
Professor of Political Science
International Politics, Middle East Politics
211 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5515
jmiglietta@tnstate.edu

Mayibuye Monanabela (Ph.D., University of Utah, 1972)
Professor of Africana Studies
African Spiritual Philosophy, African Empowerment and Transformation
201B Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5587
mmonanabela@tnstate.edu

Kyle Murray (Ph.D., University of Limerick-Ireland, 2011)
Instructor
American History, Global Political Economy, International Relations Theory and History
209A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-1394
kmurra10@tnstate.edu

Adebayo Oyebade (Ph.D., Temple University, 1995)
Professor of History
African History, American History
210A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5506
aoyebade@tnstate.edu

David Padgett (Ph.D., University of Florida, 2001)
Associate Professor of Geography
Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Environmental Justice
213 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5508
dpadgett@tnstate.edu

Jyotsna Paruchuri (Ph.D., Agra University, 1982)
Professor of Political Science
Political Philosophy, Comparative Government
211A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5509
jparuchuri@tnstate.edu

Andrew Patrick (Ph.D., University of Manchester, 2011)
Assistant Professor of History
Middle Eastern, American, and World History
413B Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5742
apatric2@tnstate.edu

Brian Russell (Ph.D., University of Tennessee-Knoxville, 2004)
Assistant Professor of Political Science
American Politics
215 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-4930
brussell7@tnstate.edu

Erik Schmeller (Ph.D., Southern Illinois University, 1999)
Department Chair
Professor of History
American History, Early American History, British History
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5510
eschmeller@tnstate.edu

Bethany Stollar (M.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 2011)
Instructor
American History, Global History
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-2139
bstollar@tnstate.edu

Morgan Veraluz (Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2014)
Lecturer of History
American History, Borderlands History, Native American History
413E Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5514
mveraluz@tnstate.edu

Learotha Williams, Jr. (Ph.D., Florida State University, 2003)
Assistant Professor of History
American History, African American History, Public History
320 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5513
lwilli22@tnstate.edu

Wosene Yefru (Ph.D., Howard University, 1983)
Professor of Africana Studies
African Studies History, African Family and Community
201C Elliott Hall
(615) 963-7462
wyefru@tnstate.edu

< back to top >

 

Part-Time Faculty

Julian Blackshear (J.D., University of Tennessee, 1970)
Assistant Professor
American Politics and Law, Constitutional Law, Legal Research and Writing
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5471
jblackshear@tnstate.edu

Ronald Hardy (M.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 1991)
Instructor
American History
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5471
rhardy@tnstate.edu

Frances Kolb (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 2014)
Instructor
American History, Early American History
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-2139
fkolb@tnstate.edu

Kalonji McClellan (M.A., Ashford University, 2009)
Instructor
Genealogy, Teaching and Learning
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583

Courtney Thomas (M.A., Vanderbilt University, 2013)
Instructor
Race and Ethnicity, Sociological Methodology
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583

Kevin Vanzant (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 2013)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Mellon Partners for Humanities Education
American History, Early American History
413A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-7554
kvanzant@tnstate.edu

Griff Watson (D.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 1985)
Instructor
American History, Teacher Education
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5503
gwatson@tnstate.edu

Cydya Williams (M.A., National Louis University, 2009)
Instructor
Teaching and Learning
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583



Recently Retired Faculty

James Haney (Ph.D., Kent State University, 1971)
Associate Professor of History
African-American History

Bobby L. Lovett (Ph.D., University of Arkansas, 1978)
Professor of History
African-American History, State and Local History

Elizabeth McClain (M.S., Tennessee State University, 1971)
Assistant Professor of History
African-American History, Civil Rights

Gloria McKissack (M.A., Tennessee State University, 1985)
Instructor of History
American History, African American History, Civil Rights

< back to top >