Main Campus Virtual Library Tour

Lib Art Corner

TSU: An Olympic Tradition

To soar to victory on eagle-wings.... to challenge the win for Olympic gold...to win with a spirit as tenacious as the legs that carry an athlete across the finish line: These visions have characterized the Tennessee State University's quest for Olympic medals for more than four decades. Indeed TSU is an Olympic tradition: such names as Wilma Rudolph,  Ralph Boston, Tina Tyus-Shaw, Edith McGuire-Duvall and Chandra Cheeseborough are synonymous with "Champion.”

Useful Links

  lib 2nd floor

Reference Department -- Second Floor

Please ask at the Reference Desk for help with using the Online Catalog, electronic and print books, databases, and journals. We can assist with resources for writing a research paper, senior project, or dissertation. This floor has access to Government Documents, reference books, print periodicals, microforms, and computer workstations.

Reference Department Staff (Research Administrative Coordinators) are:
Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference 963-5205  fmoon@tnstate.edu
Jennifer Castle, Govt. Docs Librarian 963-5207  jcastle@tnstate.edu
Angel Sloss, Embedded Librarian 963-5206 asloss2@tnstate.edu
Toccara Porter, ILL Librarian 963-1528 tporte19@tnstate.edu
Charles Graham.Library Assistant III, 963-5243 cgraham@tnstate.edu

Related Links

Third Floor
Books with the call numbers K - Z and those designated as oversized and Juvenile can be located on the third floor, along with the Journal Archives section.

Special Collections
Special Collections and Archives at Tennessee State University includes African American books, digital resources, bibliography of the Afro-American Culture and History Conference publications, student and faculty publications, brochures, minutes, photographs and other materials related to the University. 

3rd floor  

Some digital archives may be viewed at the  Historically Black College and Universities' web site--digital collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. The third floor has special rooms for prominent Tennesseans, including Senator Avon Williams, Coach Edward S.Temple and Representative Clarence (C.B.) Robinson.

Administration:
Glenda Alvin, Interim Executive Director, 963-5230 galvin@tnstate.edu
Vacant, Coordinator AWC Library, 963-7185  rfreema8@tnstate.edu 
Jarvis Sheffield, Coordinator Media Centers. 963-5743 jsheffield @tnstate.edu
Xuemei (Sherry) Ge, Systems and Metadata Librarian  963-5237 xge@tnstate.edu
Colette Bradley, Computer Specialist, 963-5489 cbradley@tnstate.edu
Phil Yan, Webmaster,  963-5213  pyan@tnstate.edu  

The Special Collections Staff are:
Sharon Hull Smith, Head of Special Collections 963-5219 shull@tnstate.edu 
Lisa Parrish, Library Assistant III 963-5238 lparrish@tnstate.edu
Michelle Vaughn, Library Assistant III - 963-1352 mpriddy@tnstate.edu

Related Links

Smart Classrooms
There are two smart classrooms for library orientation and information literacy instruction. Rooms 315 and 317 are equipped with instructors' podiums and computer workstations for students. The large classroom (317) seats 28 and the small one (315) seats 24. To schedule a library orientation or class, please contact Mr. Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference at 963-5205.






webpage contact:
Library