Honorary Retirees

Those Who've Gone Before Us

student on campus


Mr. Sterling Adams, Special Assistant to the President (Dr. Humphries) & Mathematics
Dr. Bernard Crowell, VP, Academic Affairs
Dr. Charles Fancher, Interim President, 1974-1975, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs (TBR)
Dr. James A. Hefner, President, 1991-2005
Dr. Frederick S. Humphries, President, 1975-1985
Dr. Melvin N. Johnson, President, 2005-2010


Coach James Bass – Swimming
Coach Joe Gilliam – Football
Coach Edna Overall – Women's Basketball
Coach Allen Robinson - Baseball
Coach Edward Temple – Track & Field
Coach Samuel Whitmon – Athletic Director, Baseball & Football

Academic Affairs

Dr. Augustus Bankhead - VP, Academic Affairs
Dr. Robert Boone, Professor, College of Education
Dr. Andrew Bond – Dean, College of Health Sciences
Mr. Herman Brady, Professor, Communication & Speech & Theater
Mrs. Yvonne Clark, Professor, College of Engineering Technology & Computer Science
Mrs. Inez Crutchfield, Health & Physical Education
Ms. Loren Gaiters – Professor, Criminal Justice
Mrs. Carrie Gentry – Health & Physical Education Advisor, Majorettes
Dr. Decatur Rogers – Dean, College of Engineering Technology & Computer Science
Dr. Ralph Simpson – Chair, Music
Mr. Walter Vincent, Chair, Industrial Arts
Dr. Troy Wakefield – Dean College of Agriculture & Consumer Sciences
Dr. David Wheaton – Chair, Criminal Justice
Dr. Jamye Williams – Chair, Communication & Speech & Theater
Dr. McDonald Williams, Honors Program & English


Dr. Evelyn Fancher, Librarian

Student Affairs

Mr. Charles Hemphill – Student Activities
Ms. Gloria Lewis, AVP, Student Affairs & Psychology
Mr. Thomas Martin, VP, Student Affairs
Mrs. Barbara Murrell – VP, Student Affairs
Rev. Iman Otey, Director, Career Services
Mrs. Fannie Perry – Director, Counseling Center

Human Resources

Ms. Margaret Wade, Director

University Relations & Development

Dr. Calvin Atchison, Director, Foundation
Mrs. Eunice Bell, Director, Gentry Complex & Special Events
Mrs. Delores Lewis, Director, Foundation
Mr. Homer Wheaton, AVP, University Relations and Development

Former First Ladies

Mrs. Nancy Cox, Esq.
Mrs. Ivanetta Davis
Dr. Evelyn Fancher
Mrs. Mildred Floyd
Mrs. Edwina Hefner
Dr. Marcy D. Johnson
Mrs. Juanita Peterson
Mrs. Marian Torrence

Physical Plant

Mr. Alexander Murray- Director of Physical Plant

Back to top


webpage contact:
Alumni Relations