Faculty and Staff

Sociology Program

  • All full-time faculty who are tenured or on the tenure track have earned the PhD degree.
  • Faculty are active in research, publications, professional associations, and community service.
  • The specialties and research interests of faculty crosscut national, international, and inter-continental boundaries.
  • Faculty have mentoring experience and extensive community contacts.

Karin Abel
Assistant Professor
PhD, Utah State University, 2015
212 F, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5553
kabel@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Abel

Emma Banks
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
PhD, Vanderbilt University, 2020
(615) 963-5511
ebanks11@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Banks

Ranae Evenson Newhouse
Full-Time Temporary Instructor
PhD, Vanderbilt University, 2006
212, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5511
revenson@tnstate.edu

Evenson

Barbara Kilbourne 
Professor
PhD, University of Texas, 1991
211 A, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5557
bkilbourne@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kilbourne

Roger W. Y. Klomegah
Associate Professor
PhD, South Dakota State University, 1996
212 E, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-1497
rklomega@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Klomegah

Mahgoub Mahmoud
Professor
PhD, Brown University, 1983
212 G, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5554
mmahmoud@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Mahmoud

Shakisia McKethan
Administrative Assistant III
212, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5511
smckethan@tnstate.edu

Professional Bio

McKethan

Oscar Miller, Jr.
Professor and Department Head
PhD, Vanderbilt University, 1993
212 J, Elliott Hall 
(615) 963-5559
omiller@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Miller

Michelle Randolph
Part-Time Temporary Instructor
MA, Western Kentucky University, 2003
210, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5557
mrandol4@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Randolph
Edward Kelly Sanford
Associate Professor
PhD, Howard University, 1991
212 C, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5793
esanford@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae
Sanford
Josie Scales
Professor
PhD, Howard University, 1989
212 B, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-7770
jscales@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae
Scales
Ismail H. Yigit
Assistant Professor
PhD, Mississippi State University, 2020
212 D, Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5558
iyigit@tnstate.edu

Curriculum Vitae
Yigit