Directory

College of Education


Departmental Contacts

Educational Leadership

Psychology

Teaching & Learning

Teacher Education & Student Services

 


Leadership Team

COE Building Front

College of Education
Robert E. Clay Hall, College of Education Building
Tennessee State University
3500 John A. Merritt Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37209

 Map / Directions 



 

College of Education (COE) Offices

Mrs. Ruth Gordon

Mrs. Ruth Gordon  
Senior Office Assistant,
Dean Office  

Office: 118 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5451
Email:  rgordon1@tnstate.edu


JoNatalyn Mercer 

Mrs. JoNatalyn Scott Mercer, M.Ed.  
Administrative Assistant IV,
Assoc. Dean's Office/TESS Office

blue star  Celebrating 20 years of Service           

Office: 112 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5459
Email:  jmercer@tnstate.edu 

 

Educational Leadership (EDLD)
Main Office: 103 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963- 5450

Trinetia Respress

Trinetia Respress, Ed.D.
Interim Assistant Dean / Professor 

B.B.A., 1989, University of West Georgia; M.A., 1994,
Tennessee Technological University; Ed.D., 1997, 
East Tennessee State University.

Office: 107 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5045
Email:  trespress@tnstate.edu



Carole de Casal 

Carole de Casal, Ed.D.
Professor

B.A., 1971, M.Ed. 1978, Ed.D. 1980, University of Utah 
MBA, 2007, Novus University

Office: Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-

Email:  cdecasal@tnstate.edu


Eleni Elder
 

Eleni Elder, Ed.D.
AssociateProfessor 

B.A., 1985, University of Mary Washington; M.Ed.,
1998,
Virginia Commonwealth University; Ed.D., 2002, Florida
Atlantic University

Office: A404  Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-7296
Email:  ecoukos@tnstate.edu

Janet Finch

Janet Finch, Ph.D
Professor

B.S., 1972, M.A., 1978, Tennessee State University;
Ph.D.,1985, George Peabody College of Vanderbilt
University

Office: L401  Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-7038
Email:  jfinch@tnstate.edu


Kirmanji Gundi
 

Kirmanji Gundi, Ed.D.
Interim Department Chair / Professor 

B.S., 1986, Tennessee State University; M.Ed., 1994,
Tennessee State University; Ed.D., 1998, 
Tennessee State University.

Office: 103 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-2299
Email:  kigundi2@tnstate.edu

 Eric Vogel

Eric Vogel, Ph.D.
Professor 

B.A., 1971, Louisiana State University at New Orleans; M.Ed., 
1974, University of New Orleans; Ph.D., 1983,
Florida State University

 

Office: A403 Avon Williams Campus
Phone: (615) 963-7089

Email:  evogel@tnstate.edu 

 top of page


 

Psychology (PSYC)
Main Office: 303 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5141

Kiesa Kelly

Kiesa Kelly, Ph.D.
Chair, Associate Professor 

B.A., 1996, Bowdoin College; M.S., 1999, Rosalind Franklin 
University of Medicine and Science; Ph.D., 2003, 
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science

 

Office: 317C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5144

Email:  kkelly5@tnstate.edu

James Campbell

James Campbell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 

B.A., 1982, Central State University; M.S., 1984, Oklahoma
State University; Ph.D., 1991, Oklahoma State University

 

Office: 308C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-2920

Email:  jcampbell21@tnstate.edu

Female Avatar

 

Lisa de la Mothe
Assistant Professor 

B.S., 2001, University of Tennessee at Martin; M.A., 2006, 

Vanderbilt University; Ph.D., 2008, Vanderbilty University

Office: 305D Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1390

Email:  ldelamot@tnstate.edu

John Dossett

John Dossett
Associate Professor

Office: 304C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1559

Email:  jdossett@tnstate.edu 

Marie Hammond

Marie Hammond, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 

B.M.E., 1978, Olivet College; M.A., 1980, Ph.D., 1999,
University of Missouri

Office: 305B Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5191

Email:  mhammond1@tnstate.edu

Marvin Lee

Marvin Lee
Associate Professor

Office: 317D Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5087

Email:  mlee6@tnstate.edu

Female Avatar

Robin Oatis-Ballew, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 

B.A., 1995, Fisk University; M.S., 1998, Howard University; 
Ph.D., 2001, Howard University

Office: 305A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1558

Email:  roatisballew@tnstate.edu

Charlotte Phillips

Mrs. Charlotte Phillips
Administrative Assistant IV

 

Office:  303 Clay Hall

Phone: (615) 963-5141

Email:  cphillips@tnstate.edu

Joan Popkin

Joan Popkin, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 

B.S., 1995, University of Tennessee; M.S., 1996, 
University of Tennessee; Ph.D., 2002, University of Tennessee

Office: 105A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-1385

Email:  jpopkin@tnstate.edu

Mary Shelton

Mary Shelton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 

B.S., 1975, University of the South; M.S., 1989, 
George Peabody College of Vanderbilt University; 1999, Ph.D., 
George Peabody College of Vanderbilt University

 

Office: 304D Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-7984

Email:  mshelton@tnstate.edu

Joshua Shive

Joshua Shive
Assistant Professor

Office: 317A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5160

Email:  jshive@tnstate.edu

Amy Sibulkin

Amy Sibulkin
Professor 

B.A., 1976, Clark University; M.S., 1979, Cornell University;
Ph.D, 1981, Cornell University 

 

Office: 305C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5088

Email:  asibulkin@tnstate.edu

 

  top of page


 

Teaching & Learning (EDCI)
Main Office: 203 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5465

Celeste Williams

Celeste Williams, Ed.D. 
Professor

B.S., 1987, Guilford College; M.S., 1995, Ed.D. 2001,                     
Tennessee State University

blue star  Celebrating 20 years of Service

Office: 211C Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5474
Email: cwilliams@tnstate.edu  

Jane Asamani

Jane Asamani, Ph.D. 
Professor

Practitioner License, 1981, Moneaque Teachers College, St. Ann,
Jamaica; B.A., 1981, University of the West Indies, Mona Kingston, 
Jamaica; M.A., 1986, Fisk University; Ed.S., 1993, Tennessee State
University; Ed.D., 1995, Tennessee State University 

Office: 212-214 LRC Bldg.
Phone: (615) 963-5573
Email: jasamani@tnstate.edu

Sumita Chakraborti-Ghosh

Sumita Chakraborti-Ghosh, Ph.D. 
Professor 


B.S., 1975, Calcutta University, Calcutta, India; B.S., 1987,
Utah State University; M.A., 1979, Rabindrabharah University,
Calcutta India; Ph.D., 1998, New Mexico State University

Office: 209B Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-5476 
Email:  schakraborti@tnstate.edu  

Beth Christian

Beth Christian, Ph.D. 
Professor

B.A., 1991, University of Tennessee; M.A., 1993, 
Middle Tennessee State University; Ph.D., 2002, Peabody College of
Vanderbilt University

Office: 216 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5324
VSCC Campus: (615) 230-3706
Email: bchristian1@tnstate.edu 

Faculty Website

 

Mrs. Gervaise Clark

Mrs. Gervaise Clark 
Administrative Assistant III 


Office: 203 Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-5465 
Email:  geclark@tnstate.edu  

John Mark Hunter

John Mark Hunter, Ed.D. 
Professor


B.A., 1982, College of Charleston; M.M.A., 1983, University of
South Carolina; Ed.D., 1991, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University

blue star  Celebrating 20 years of Service

Office: L402 Avon Williams Campus 
Phone: (615) 963-7051 
Email:  jmhunter@tnstate.edu  

Nicole Kendall

Nicole M. Kendall, Ed.D. 
Associate Professor

B.S., 1999 University of Tennessee at Martin, M.S. 2000, 
Peabody College of Vanderbilt University , Ed.D, 2005, 
Tennessee State University

 

Office: 203 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5482
Email: nkendall@tnstate.edu

Faculty Website 

Dr. Show Mei Lin

Show Mei Lin, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor

B.A. 1981 Soochow University, Taipei, Taiwan; M.S.W. 1985,
California State University, Fresno; Teacher Certification 1997,
University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada; Ph.D.2009 The 
University of Oklahoma

Office: 209A Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-1348 
Email:  slin@tnstate.edu 

Delores Mathis

Dolores Mathis, Ph.D. 
Professor

B.S., 1967, Florida A & M; M.A., 1969, The Ohio State University, Ed.S.,
1971, Ph.D., 1975, University of Michigan

Office: 413 Avon Williams Campus 
Phone: (615) 963-7282 
Email:  dmathis@tnstate.edu  

Judith Presley

Judith Presley, Ph.D. 
Professor

B.S., 1969, Tennessee State University; M.S., 1974,
Tennessee State University; Ph.D., 1998, George Peabody 
College of Vanderbilt

Office: 210 Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-5468 
Email:  jpresley@tnstate.edu

Heraldo Richards

Heraldo Richards, Ph.D. 
Associate Dean, College of Education
Associate Professor

B.A., 1975, University of Chicago; M.A., 1985, University of Michigan;
Ph.D., 1993, Northwestern University

 

Office: 112 Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-5620 
Email:  hrichards@tnstate.edu

John David Tiller

John David Tiller, Ed.D. 
Assistant Professor

B.S., 1973, Gardner-Webb College; M.R.E., 1978, Southeastern Baptist
Theological Seminary; Ed.D. 2000, Tennessee State University

 

Office: 214A Clay Hall 
Phone: (615) 963-5457 
Email:  jtiller01@tnstate.edu


  top of page

Office of Teacher Education & Student Services
Main Office: 107 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5459

     

Dr. Dianne Bryant 

Dianne Bryant, Ed.D.
Certification Officer  

blue star    Celebrating 30 years of Service    

Office: 107 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5484
Email: dbryant@tnstate.edu  

  top of page

 

Ruby W. Martin Curriculum Laboratory
Main Office: 212 Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5459

Debra Jackson

Mrs. Debra A. Jackson 
Director

blue star  Celebrating 30 years of Service   

Office: 212A Clay Hall
Phone: (615) 963-5480
Email: djackson@tnstate.edu

  top of page