Criminal Justice Faculty & Staff

A highly respected and socially diverse Criminal Justice faculty with terminal degrees in their field of expertise and substantial professional experience (honed on the front lines of the street, courtrooms, and prisons) combine theory and practice in the classroom to foster students' growth and challenge them to achieve academic excellence.  The superior preparation the Criminal Justice Faculty provides and insures that its graduates will continue to be in great demand in the work force and also prepares them to continue their education in graduate school.

Dr. Burris-Kitchen

Dr. Deborah Burris-Kitchen
(Ph.D., Western Michigan University)
Department Chair and Professor
305 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-7648
dburriskitchen@tnstate.edu

 

barnes 

Dr. Lynette Barnes
(Ph.D., Rutgers University)
Associate Professor
310 B Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5589
lbarnes@tnstate.edu
 mark chaires

 

Dr. Mark Chaires
(Ph.D., SUNY, Albany)
Assistant Professor
315 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-1236

mchaires@tnstate.edu

kakoti 

Dr. George Kakoti
(Ph.D., Indiana University) (LL.M ., Indiana University Maurer School of Law)                                                                                                                                             Associate Professor
316 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5590
gkakoti@tnstate.edu

Dr. Montgomery

Dr. Michael Montgomery                                                 

(Ph.D., Tennessee State University)                        
Associate Professor                        
309 Crouch Hall                        
(615) 963-5588     

  mmontgomery@tnstate.edu        

smith  Mr. Robert Smith, J.D.
(J.D., Howard University School of Law)
Assistant Professor
313 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5032
rsmith@tnstate.edu
woods  Mr. Larry Woods, J.D.
(J.D., Northwestern University School of Law)
Professor
311 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5592
lwoods@tnstate.edu 
Officer Jackson Officer Richard Jackson
(ABD Waldon University)
Temporary Assistant Professor
316 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
rjacks12@tnstate.edu
walker  Mrs. Carolyn Walker
Administrative Assistant
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
cwalker@tnstate.edu 

Adjunct Faculty

 
wells  Harold Wells, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
harold.wells@nashville.gov
Ecraig  Mr. Edward Craig, J.D., LL.M.
Motlow State Community College
Adjunct Instructor
lucy Lucy Craig, Ph.D.
Coordinator of the Motlow 2+2 Program
(931) 393-1567
l craig@mscc.edu 

thompson

Mr. Carey Thompson, J.D.
Adjunct Instructor
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
Shirley Marks Ms. Shirley Marks, MCJ
Adjunct Instructor
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
monty pic  Mr. Monty Burks, MCJ
Adjunct Instructor
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
James Abbot

Mr. James Abbott, MCJ
Adjunct Instructor
308 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571

Graduate Assistants

 
   

Mercedes Hence
310 Crouch Hall
(615)963-5571
mhence@my.tnstate.edu

   

Georgia Nejus
310 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5571
georgianejus@gmail.com