Faculty

Sociology Program

  • 100% Full Time Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty Have Earned the Ph.D.
  • Active in Research, Publications, Professional Associations and Community Service
  • Specialties/Research Interests Cross-Cut National, Inter-Continental and International Boundaries
  • Mentoring and Extensive Community Contacts

Dr. Ranae Evenson Newhouse
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt, 2006
212 E Elliott Hall
(615) 963-1497
revenson@tnstate.edu

 Image Not Available


Dr. Barbara Kilbourne 
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas, 1991
211 A Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5557
bkilbourne@tnstate.edu

 bk

Dr. Mahgoub Mahmoud
Professor
Ph.D., Brown University, 1983
212 F Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5554
mmahmoud@tnstate.edu

 mahmoud

Dr. Oscar Miller, Jr.
Department Head - Department of Sociology, Social Work, & Urban Professions
Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 1993
212 i Elliott Hall 
(615) 963-5559
omiller@tnstate.edu

Dr. Oscar Miller
Dr. Ernest Rhodes
Professor
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, 1977
212 G Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5553
erhodes@tnstate.edu
Dr. Ernest Rhodes
Dr. Edward Kelly Sanford
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Howard University, 1989
212 C Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5793
esanford@tnstate.edu
sanford
Dr. Josie Scales
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Howard University, 1989
212 B  Elliott Hall
(615) 963-7770
jscales@tnstate.edu
 Image Not Available






webpage contact:
Sociology Dept