

August 24, 2016

Dear Colleagues:

I wanted to take this opportunity to provide you with several updates regarding Tennessee State University's work in preparing for the implementation of the FOCUS Act, which was passed by the Tennessee General Assembly last Spring and signed by Governor Bill Haslam. Over the course of the last few months, I have been busy attending meetings and assembling an internal and external group to assist in TSU's transition to a new governance structure.

Please find below a recap of some of the events and action items, a description of the internal and external groups assisting the institution during this transition period, and other important information. I also included a Question and Answer section to provide additional information regarding the FOCUS Act and the new TSU governing board.

#### **FOCUS Act Transition Task Force**

On June 29, I attended an informative meeting of the FOCUS Act Transition Task Force, chaired by the Governor, where he presented the timeline for implementation of the new governance structure.

The timeline includes:

- September 2016: The Governor plans to announce his appointments to the six boards of trustees for the former Tennessee Board of Regents universities (TSU, Austin Peay, East Tennessee, University of Memphis, Middle Tennessee State and Tennessee Tech);
- September 2016: TSU and the five other former TBR institutions transmit Substantive Change Review proposals to our accrediting body, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on College (SACSCOC). This body requires such notification when there is a significant modification or expansion in the nature and scope of an accredited institution;
- Fall 2016: Faculty Senates at TSU and the five other former TBR universities will develop processes for selection of faculty members for the boards;
- February-March 2017: The Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) presents and reviews appropriation, capital, and tuition recommendations to legislative committees. Also, during this time period, THEC will work with the UT and TBR boards, as well as with the six former TBR universities, to understand campus revenue needs and prepare binding tuition recommendations.
- Late March 2017: The state will offer professional development sessions for the members of the six new boards of trustees.
- Approximately April 2017: The six new boards of trustees will meet for the first time.

# **TSU Internal FOCUS Act Working Group**

Tennessee State University is also internally preparing for the new governance changes. I formed a FOCUS Act Internal Working Group, comprised of administrators, faculty, staff, and students, to review TSU policies, TBR policies and guidelines, and other applicable policies to determine their application and the possible revision of TSU policies as we transition to a local board of trustees. The Internal Working Group (*listed below*) has been meeting over the course of the last five months to prepare for the governance changes.

The Internal Working Group will be meeting again soon to review recommendations and consider other appropriate transition-related action items.

# **TSU's External Transition Advisory Committee**

I also formed an External Transition Advisory Committee, comprised of leaders from Tennessee and nationally, to assist me with suggestions and ideas as we proceed through the transition process and implement a new governance structure. I have met with the External Transition Advisory Committee and plan to meet with the members again in the Fall as we move forward in the transition process. The members of this outstanding group of volunteers are listed below.

#### **Tennessee Higher Education Commission**

Finally, under the FOCUS Act, the Tennessee Higher Education Commission will assume more responsibility related to regulations and other issues affecting institutions of higher education in the state of Tennessee. In early June, several Tennessee State University administrators joined me in a meeting with Dr. Russ Deaton, deputy executive director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. At the meeting, we discussed THEC's priorities during this transition and its commitment to its new responsibilities under the FOCUS Act.

## Appointment of members of the TSU Board of Trustees

Governor Haslam has the sole authority to appoint eight of the 10 members of the Tennessee State University board. The TSU Faculty Senate will appoint the Faculty board member. The TSU Board of Trustees will appoint the student board member. I have been in communication with the Governor's office in connection with his appointments to the TSU board.

I want to thank everyone for your hard work as TSU embarks on a new chapter in its illustrious history. I will continue to keep you updated on this page as we move forward in the governance transition process.

Sincerely,

Glenda Glover President

# President Glenda Glover and University Legal Counsel Laurence Pendleton, Co-Chair **Tennessee State University FOCUS Act Internal Working Group**

# Here are the other members of the Internal Working Group:

- Dr. Mark Hardy, Vice President of Academic Affairs
- Ms. Cynthia Brooks, CPA, Vice President of Business and Finance
- Ms. Jane Jackson, J.D., Vice President for Administration
- Dr. Lesia Crumpton-Young, Vice President of Research and Sponsored Programs and Institutional Advancement
- Dr. John Cade, Assoc. Vice President Enrollment Management
- Dr. Curtis Johnson, Assistant Vice President, Administration .
- Ms. Kelli Sharpe, Assistant Vice President of Public Relations and Communications
- Ms. Eloise Alexis, Associate Vice President for Advancement
- Dr. Alisa Mosley, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
- Mr. Gregory Robinson, Chief of Police
- Dr. Samuel Hargrove, Dean of the College of Engineering
- Ms. Teresa Lawrence-Phillips, Athletics Director
- Mr. Laurence Pendleton, University Counsel
- Mr. Grant Winrow, Special Assistant to the President
- Mr. Frank Stevenson, Dean of Students
- Dr. Achintya Ray, Faculty Senate President
- Ms. Linda Goodman, Staff Senate President
- Mr. Aarian Fomran, SGA President 2016-2017
- Ms. Janiesha Harris, Representative-at-Large
- Ms. Alicia Jones, Miss TSU 2016-2017

## **TSU FOCUS Act External Transition Advisory Committee**

- Ms. Traci Otey Blount, Executive Vice President, Corporate Marketing & Corporate Affairs of Robert L. Johnson Entertainment and former Communications Director for the 2008 Hillary R. Clinton Presidential Campaign
- Attorney Charles Robert Bone, Chief Executive Officer, Bone McAllester Norton, PLLC
- Ms. Lauren J. Brisky, CPA, retired Vice Chancellor for Administration and Chief Financial Officer, Vanderbilt University
- Ms. Beverly Carmichael, Senior Vice President, Chief People Officer, Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc.
- Dr. Colleen Conway-Welch, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita, Vanderbilt University
- Mr. George L Davis Jr., Co-Owner/Chief Technology Officer of Ultimate Progress of Nursing, Inc.
- Dr. Kelley Castlin-Gacutan, Superintendent, Birmingham Public Schools

- Dr. Fred Humphries, retired President of Florida A&M University and former President of Tennessee State University
- Mr. Jamie Isabel, Owner, Dalmatian Creative Agency, Inc.
- Dr. Richard Lewis, Owner, Lewis & Wright Funeral Home
- Dr. Edith Peterson Mitchell, President, National Medical Association
- Mr. Wendell Moore, Senior Public Policy Advisor, Baker Donelson Law Firm, PLLC and former Deputy Governor, State of Tennessee
- Dr. Shirley Raines, former President, University of Memphis
- Dr. Maria Thompson, President, Coppin State University, Baltimore, MD
- Bishop Joseph W. Walker, III, Presiding Bishop, Full Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship International & Senior Pastor, Mt. Zion Baptist Church
- Ms. Brenda Wynn, Davidson County Clerk