Main Campus Virtual Library Tour

lib pic 2 3rd picture 2 3rd picture 4th picture 4th picture 2

Information About the Library Building

The Martha M. Brown-Lois H. Daniel Library, located at the Main Campus, is adjacent to the Floyd-Payne Campus Center. It is a three-story, contemporary structure built in 1977. It has 82,000 square feet of space with special study and research facilities that include two smart classrooms and two computer labs. A unique Special Collections area on the third floor houses the Library's and University's historic archives, theses, dissertations, art objects and other documents related to the University's unique and colorful history. The Library also houses an Art Corner on the first floor where Nashville area artists exhibit their work. Permanent exhibits of TSU Olympians and Coach Edward S. Temple are also located on the first floor.

Administration:
Dr. Murle Kenerson, Interim Dean 963-5203 mkenerson@tnstate.edu
Ms. Glenda Alvin, Asst. Dir, Collection Mgt. 963-5230 galvin@tnstate.edu
Dr. Janet Walsh, Coordinator AWC Library, 963-7185 jwalsh@tnstate.edu
Dr. Karen Gupton, Coordinator Media Ctrs. 963-5743 kgupton@tnstate.edu
Xuemei (Sherry) Ge Systems Manager  963-5237 xge@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Colette Bradley, Computer Specialist, 963-5489 cbradley@tnstate.edu

Mr. Phil Yan, Webmaster,  963-5213  pyan@tnstate.edu  

Lib Art Corner

TSU: An Olympic Tradition

To soar to victory on eagle-wings.... to challenge the win for Olympic gold...to win with a spirit as tenacious as the legs that carry an athlete across the finish line: These visions have characterized the Tennessee State University's quest for Olympic medals for more than four decades. Indeed TSU is an Olympic tradition: such names as Wilma Rudolph,  Ralph Boston, Tina Tyus-Shaw, Edith McGuire-Duvall and Chandra Cheeseborough are synonymous with "Champion.”

Circulation Department --First Floor

All book items can be checked out, with the exception of reserve and reference materials.  Books with the call numbers A J can be located on the first floor.  You may inquire about renewals and payment of fines at the Circulation Desk.  Please remember that some circulation services are also available online, including holds, requests, personal account information, and other links.

  Lib floor plan 1st

The Circulation Department Staff:
Mr. James Paxman - 963-5243 jpaxman@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Mary Swanson -963-5242 mswanson@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Michelle Vaughn - 963-1352 mpriddy@tnstate.edu
Mattie Leatrice Emanuel - 963-5064 memanuel@tnstate.edu

Useful Links

  lib 2nd floor

Reference Department -- Second Floor

Please ask at the Reference Desk for  help with using the Tigris Online Catalog,  electronic and print books, databases, and journals. We can assist you with resources  for writing a research paper, senior project, thesis or dissertation. On this floor, you will have access to Government Documents, reference books, print periodicals, microforms, and computer workstations.

Reference Department Staff are:
Mr. Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference963-5205  fmoon@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Anita Etheridge, Govt. Docs Librarian963-5207  aetheridge@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Lynetta Alexander, Ref. Librarian 963-5201  lalexander@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Barbara Van Hooser, Embedded Librarian 963-5206  bvanhooser@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Nancy Henthorne, ILL Librarian 963-1528 nhenthorne@tnstate.edu
Mr. Michael Doster, Library Assistant 3 963-5204 mdoster@tnstate.edu  

Related Links

Third Floor
Books with the call numbers K - Z and those designated as Oversized  and Juvenile can be located on the third floor, along with the Journal Archives section.

Special Collections
Special Collections and Archives at Tennessee State University includes African American books, digital resources, bibliography of the Afro-American Culture and History Conference publications, student and faculty publications, brochures, minutes, photographs and other materials related to the University. 

3rd floor  

Some digital archives may be viewed at the  Historically Black College and Universities' web site--digital collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. Special rooms  for prominent Tennesseans, including Senator Avon  Williams, Coach Edward S. Temple and Representative  Clarence (C.B.) Robinson.

The Special Collections Staff are:
Mrs. Sharon Hull Smith, Head of Special Collections 963-5219 shull@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Loretta Divens, Library Assistant III 963-5234 ldivens@tnstate.edu

Related Links

Smart Classrooms
There are two smart classrooms for library orientation and information literacy instruction. Rooms 315 and 317 are equipped with instructors' podiums and computer workstations for students. The  large classroom(317) seats 28 and the small one(315)seats 24. To schedule a library orientation or class, please contact Mr. Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference at 963-5205.






webpage contact:
Library