Main Campus Virtual Library Tour

Information About the Library Building

The Martha M. Brown-Lois H. Daniel Library, located at the Main Campus, is adjacent to the Floyd-Payne Campus Center. It is a three-story, contemporary structure built in 1977. It has 82,000 square feet of space with special study and research facilities that include two smart classrooms and two computer labs. A unique Special Collections area on the third floor houses the Library's and University's historic archives, theses, dissertations, art objects and other documents related to the University's unique and colorful history. The Library also houses an Art Corner on the first floor where Nashville area artists exhibit their work. Permanent exhibits of TSU Olympians and Coach Edward S. Temple are also located on the first floor.

Administration:
Dr. Murle Kenerson, Interim Dean 963-5203 mkenerson@tnstate.edu
Ms. Glenda Alvin, Asst. Dir., Collection Mgt. 963-5230 galvin@tnstate.edu
Dr. Rodney Freeman, Coordinator AWC Library, 963-7185
Mr.Jarvis Sheffield, Coordinator Media Ctrs. 963-5743 jsheffield@tnstate.edu
Xuemei (Sherry) Ge Systems and Metadata Librarian  963-5237 xge@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Colette Bradley, Computer Specialist, 963-5489 cbradley@tnstate.edu
Mr. Phil Yan, Webmaster,  963-5213  pyan@tnstate.edu  

Lib Art Corner

TSU: An Olympic Tradition

To soar to victory on eagle-wings.... to challenge the win for Olympic gold...to win with a spirit as tenacious as the legs that carry an athlete across the finish line: These visions have characterized the Tennessee State University's quest for Olympic medals for more than four decades. Indeed TSU is an Olympic tradition: such names as Wilma Rudolph,  Ralph Boston, Tina Tyus-Shaw, Edith McGuire-Duvall and Chandra Cheeseborough are synonymous with "Champion.”

Circulation Department --First Floor

All book items can be checked out, with the exception of reserve and reference materials.  Books with the call numbers A J can be located on the first floor.  You may inquire about renewals and payment of fines at the Circulation Desk.  Please remember that some circulation services are also available online, including holds, requests, personal account information, and other links.

  Lib floor plan 1st

The Circulation Department Staff:
Mr. Michael Doster, Library Assistant III 963-5204 mdoster@tnstate.edu 
Mrs. Mary Swanson, Library Manager - 963-5242 mswanson@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Michelle Vaughn, Library Assistant III - 963-1352 mpriddy@tnstate.edu
Ms.Tammie Evans, Library Assistant II - 963-5064 tevans24@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Vanessa Smith, Library Assistant II - vsmith18@tnstate.edu
Mr. Yusef Lighari, Library Assistant II - 963-5059, ylighari@tnstate.edu

Useful Links

  lib 2nd floor

Reference Department -- Second Floor

Please ask at the Reference Desk for help with using the Tigris Online Catalog, electronic and print books, databases, and journals. We can assist you with resources for writing a research paper, senior project, thesis or dissertation. On this floor, you will have access to Government Documents, reference books, print periodicals, microforms, and computer workstations.

Reference Department Staff are:
Mr. Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference963-5205  fmoon@tnstate.edu
vacant, Govt. Docs Librarian963-5207  aetheridge@tnstate.edu
Mr. Conrad Pegues, Ref. Librarian 963-1509  cpegues2@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Angel Sloss, Embedded Librarian 963-5206 asloss2@tnstate.edu
Mrs. Toccara Porter, ILL Librarian 963-1528 tporte19@tnstate.edu
Mr. Randy Jonson. tech support, 963-5201 rjohns37@tnstate.edu

Related Links

Third Floor
Books with the call numbers K - Z and those designated as oversized and Juvenile can be located on the third floor, along with the Journal Archives section.

Special Collections
Special Collections and Archives at Tennessee State University includes African American books, digital resources, bibliography of the Afro-American Culture and History Conference publications, student and faculty publications, brochures, minutes, photographs and other materials related to the University. 

3rd floor  

Some digital archives may be viewed at the  Historically Black College and Universities' web site--digital collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. Special rooms for prominent Tennesseans, including Senator Avon Williams, Coach Edward S.Temple and Representative Clarence (C.B.) Robinson.

The Special Collections Staff are:
Mrs. Sharon Hull Smith, Head of Special Collections 963-5219 shull@tnstate.edu

Related Links

Smart Classrooms
There are two smart classrooms for library orientation and information literacy instruction. Rooms 315 and 317 are equipped with instructors' podiums and computer workstations for students. The large classroom (317) seats 28 and the small one (315) seats 24. To schedule a library orientation or class, please contact Mr. Fletcher Moon, Head of Reference at 963-5205.






webpage contact:
Library