Faculty


Photo to come

Gashawbeza Bekele PhD
Assistant Professor of Geography

Fields: Cultural, Political, and Economic Geography, Geography of Africa, Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Contact: 413C Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5499, gbekele@tnstate.edu


 

MBertrand

Michael Bertrand, PhD 
Associate Professor of History

Fields: American History, Modern (20th Century) American History, New South, History of Race, Music, and Popular Culture

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-1376, mbertrand@tnstate.edu

 
   Photo to come  

Keisha Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor of History

Fields: Asian Studies, World History, Race and Ethnicity 

Contact: 210B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5000, kbrow110@tnstate.edu

 

   

-  back to top  -

   Photo to come

Sheri Browne, PhD 
Professor of History American History, 19th Century

Fields: American History, American Women's History, Women's Studies

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5505, sbrowne@tnstate.edu

 
   tcorse

Theron Corse 
Associate Professor of History

Fields: Latin American History, World History

Contact: 406A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-7457, tcorse@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Elizabeth Dachowski, PhD  
Professor of History 

Fields:  Ancient, Medieval, Early Modern European, and World History 

Contact: 413D Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5507, edachowski@tnstate.edu

www.tnstate.edu/faculty/edachowski 

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come    

Joel Dark, PhD
Professor of History

Fields:  Modern European History

Contact: 112 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5516, jdark@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

K. T. Ewing, PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields:  African American History, 20th Century United States History, Women and Gender 

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-6741, ktewing@tnstate.edu

 
dgibran  

Daniel Gibran
Professor of Political Science

Fields: International Relations Theory, International Security, International Political Economy

Contact: 209 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5650, dgibran@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come  

Hoyt King, PhD
Associate Professor of Political Science. American Government, American Legislative Process, Black Politics, Urban Politics

Contact: 320 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5502, hking@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

John Miglietta, PhD
Professor of Political Science

Fields:International Politics, Middle East Politics

Contact: 211 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5515, jmiglietta@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Mayibuye Monanabela, PhD  
Professor of Africana Studies 

Fields:  African Spiritual Philosophy, African Empowerment and Transformation 

Contact: 201B Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5587, mmonanabela@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come  

Kyle Murray, PhD
Instructor

Fields:American History, Global Political Economy, International Relations Theory and History 

Contact: 209A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-1394, kmurra10@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Adebayo Oyebade, PhD
Department Chair,  Professor of History


Fields:  African History, American History

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5506, aoyebade@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

David Padgett, PhD
Associate Professor of Geography 

Fields:  Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Environmental Justice 

Contact: 213 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5508, dpadgett@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come  

Jyotsna Paruchuri, PhD  
Professor of Political Science 

Fields:  Political Philosophy, Comparative Government 

Contact: 211A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5509, jparuchuri@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Andrew Patrick, PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields:  Middle Eastern, American, and World History

Contact: 413B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5742, apatric2@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Brian Russell, PhD 
Assistant Professor of Political Science

Fields:  American Politics 

Contact: 215 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-4930, brussell7@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come  

Erik Schmeller, PhD 
Professor of History

Fields:  American History, Early American History, British History 

Contact: 210A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5510, eschmeller@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Bethany Stollar, M.A.
Instructor

Fields:  American History, Global History

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-2139, bstollar@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Morgan Veraluz, PhD  
Lecturer of History

Fields:  American History, Borderlands History, Native American History  

Contact: 413E Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5514, mveraluz@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come  

Learotha Williams, Jr., PhD 
Assistant Professor of History

Fields:  American History, African American History, Public History 

Contact: 320 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5513, lwilli22@tnstate.edu

 
   Photo to come

Wosene Yefru, PhD 
Professor of Africana Studies

Fields:  African Studies History, African Family and Community 

Contact: 201C Elliott Hall, (615) 963-7462, wyefru@tnstate.edu

 

 

Part-time Faculty

Photo to come

Julian Blackshear, J.D.
Assistant Professor

Fields:  American Politics and Law, Constitutional Law, Legal Research and Writing

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5471, jblackshear@tnstate.edu

 

 
Photo to come

Ronald Hardy, M.A.
Instructor

Fields:  American History 

Contact: 216 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5471, rhardy@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Frances Kolb, PhD 
Instructor

Fields:  American History, Early American History 

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-2139, fkolb@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come

Kalonji McClellan, M.A.
Instructor

Fields:  Genealogy, Teaching and Learning 
Africana Studies 

Contact: 201 Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5583

 
Photo to come

Courtney Thomas, M.A. 
Instructor

Fields:  Race and Ethnicity, Sociological Methodology 
Africana Studies 

Contact: 201 Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5583

 
Photo to come

Kevin Vanzant, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, Mellon Partners for Humanities Education

Fields:  American History, Early American History 

Contact: 413A Crouch Hall, (615) 963-7554, kvanzant@tnstate.edu

 
   

-  back to top  -

Photo to come

Griff Watson, D.A.
Instructor

Fields:  American History, Teacher Education 

Contact: 418 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5503, gwatson@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Cydya Williams, M.A.
Instructor

Fields:  Teaching and Learning 
Africana Studies 

Contact: 201 Elliott Hall, (615) 963-5583, cjackson3@tnstate.edu

-  back to top  -

 

 

Recently Retired Faculty

James Haney, (PhD Kent State University, 1971)
Associate Professor of History
African American History

Bobby L. Lovett, PhD University of Arkansas, 1978)
Professor of History
African American History, State and Local History

Elizabeth McClain, M.S., Tennessee State University, 1971)
Assistant Professor of History
African American History, Civil Rights

Gloria McKissack, M.A., Tennessee State University, 1985)
Instructor of History
American History, African American History, Civil Rights

back to top >