Faculty

Photo to come

Gashawbeza Bekele PhD, Assistant Professor of Geography

Fields: Cultural, Political, and Economic Geography, Geography of Africa, Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Contact: 413C Crouch Hall,  (615) 963-5499,  gbekele@tnstate.edu


 

MBertrand

Michael Bertrand, PhD
Associate Professor of History

Fields: American History, Modern (20th Century) American History, New South, History of Race, Music, and Popular Culture

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall, (615) 963-1376, mbertrand@tnstate.edu

 
  Photo to come  

Keisha Brown Ph.D, Assistant Professor of History

Fields: Asian Studies, World History, Race and Ethnicity 

Contact: 210B Crouch Hall, (615) 963-5000, kbrow110@tnstate.edu

 

   

back
to top

  Photo to come

Sheri Browne  PhD,  Professor of History American History, 19th Century

Fields: American History, American Women's History, Women's Studies

Contact: 220 Crouch Hall,  (615) 963-5505,  sbrowne@tnstate.edu

 
  tcorse

Theron Corse
Associate Professor of History

Fields: Latin American History, World History

406A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-7457
tcorse@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Elizabeth Dachowski  (PhD, University of Minnesota, 1995)
Professor of History
Ancient, Medieval, Early Modern European, and World History
413D Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5507
edachowski@tnstate.edu

www.tnstate.edu/faculty/edachowski 

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come    

Joel Dark (PhD, Vanderbilt University, 1998)
Professor of History
Modern European History
112 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5516
jdark@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

K. T. Ewing  (PhD, University of Memphis, 2014)
Assistant Professor of History
African American History, 20th Century United States History, Women and Gender
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-6741
ktewing@tnstate.edu

 
dgibran  

Daniel Gibran
Professor of Political Science

Fields: International Relations Theory, International Security, International Political Economy

209 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5650
dgibran@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come  

Hoyt King  (PhD, West Virginia University, 1976)
Associate Professor of Political Science
American Government, American Legislative Process, Black Politics, Urban Politics
320 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5502
hking@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

John Miglietta (PhD, New York University, 1995)
Professor of Political Science
International Politics, Middle East Politics
211 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5515
jmiglietta@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Mayibuye Monanabela  (PhD, University of Utah, 1972)
Professor of Africana Studies
African Spiritual Philosophy, African Empowerment and Transformation
201B Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5587
mmonanabela@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come  

Kyle Murray  (PhD, University of Limerick-Ireland, 2011)
Instructor
American History, Global Political Economy, International Relations Theory and History
209A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-1394
kmurra10@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Adebayo Oyebade  (PhD, Temple University, 1995)
Department Chair
Professor of History
African History, American History
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5506
aoyebade@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

David Padgett  (PhD, University of Florida, 2001)
Associate Professor of Geography
Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Environmental Justice
213 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5508
dpadgett@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come  

Jyotsna Paruchuri  (PhD, Agra University, 1982)
Professor of Political Science
Political Philosophy, Comparative Government
211A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5509
jparuchuri@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Andrew Patrick (PhD, University of Manchester, 2011)
Assistant Professor of History
Middle Eastern, American, and World History
413B Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5742
apatric2@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Brian Russell  (PhD, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, 2004)
Assistant Professor of Political Science
American Politics
215 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-4930
brussell7@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come  

Erik Schmeller  (PhD, Southern Illinois University, 1999)
Professor of History
American History, Early American History, British History
210A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5510
eschmeller@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come    

Bethany Stollar(M.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 2011)
Instructor
American History, Global History
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-2139
bstollar@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come  

Morgan Veraluz (PhD, University of Michigan, 2014)
Lecturer of History
American History, Borderlands History, Native American History 
413E Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5514
mveraluz@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come  

Learotha Williams, Jr.  (PhD, Florida State University, 2003)
Assistant Professor of History
American History, African American History, Public History
320 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5513
lwilli22@tnstate.edu

 
  Photo to come

Wosene Yefru  (PhD, Howard University, 1983)
Professor of Africana Studies
African Studies History, African Family and Community
201C Elliott Hall
(615) 963-7462
wyefru@tnstate.edu

 

 

Part-time Faculty

Photo to come

Julian Blackshear (J.D., University of Tennessee, 1970)
Assistant Professor
American Politics and Law, Constitutional Law, Legal Research and Writing
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5471
jblackshear@tnstate.edu

 

 
Photo to come

Ronald Hardy  (M.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 1991)
Instructor
American History
216 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5471
rhardy@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Frances Kolb  (PhD, Vanderbilt University, 2014)
Instructor
American History, Early American History
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-2139
fkolb@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come

Kalonji McClellan  (M.A., Ashford University, 2009)
Instructor
Genealogy, Teaching and Learning
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583

 
Photo to come

Courtney Thomas  (M.A., Vanderbilt University, 2013)
Instructor
Race and Ethnicity, Sociological Methodology
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583

 
Photo to come

Kevin Vanzant  (PhD, Vanderbilt University, 2013)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Mellon Partners for Humanities Education
American History, Early American History
413A Crouch Hall
(615) 963-7554
kvanzant@tnstate.edu

 
   

back to top  >

Photo to come

Griff Watson  (D.A., Middle Tennessee State University, 1985)
Instructor
American History, Teacher Education
418 Crouch Hall
(615) 963-5503
gwatson@tnstate.edu

 
Photo to come

Cydya Williams  (M.A.,  National Louis University , 2009)
Instructor
Teaching and Learning
Africana Studies
201 Elliott Hall
(615) 963-5583
cjackson3@tnstate.edu

back to top  >

 

 

Recently Retired Faculty

James Haney (PhD, Kent State University, 1971)
Associate Professor of History
African American History

Bobby L. Lovett (PhD, University of Arkansas, 1978)
Professor of History
African American History, State and Local History

Elizabeth McClain (M.S., Tennessee State University, 1971)
Assistant Professor of History
African American History, Civil Rights

Gloria McKissack (M.A., Tennessee State University, 1985)
Instructor of History
American History, African American History, Civil Rights

back to top >