Meeting Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, August 27, 2020 2:40pm-4:30pm Zoom Meeting*

*Recorded meeting and is developed from the handwritten notes. Meeting Minutes taken by Senator Chakraborti-Ghosh, Secretary.

- 1. Welcome!-Senator Triplett, Chair called the meeting to order at 2:40 pm
- 2. April 23rd meeting minutes was approved with a motion by Senator, Chair, Kimberly Triplett, seconded by Senator Samuel Dennis. Meeting Minutes will be uploaded on our Faculty Senate website.
- 3. Faculty Senate Roster was updated by roll call by Secretary, Senator Sumita Chakraborti-Ghosh
- 4. Election of the Chair-Elect position was conducted by Senators Charles Brown, and Samuel Dennis. The candidates were Senators
 - Derek Charles
 Artenzia C. Young-Seigler
 Voting was completed with 29/29 votes. The result was
- 1. Artenzia C. Young-Seigler: 21
- 2. Derek Charles: 8

Senator Young-Seigler became the chair elect for the year of 2020-2022

- 5. Call for nomination of the chairs for the standing committee was conducted. The result is as follows:
 - 1. Academic Committee, Chair: Senator Mark Crawford macrawford@tnstate.edu
 - 2. Budget Committee: Vacant
 - 3. Alumni Relations and Development Committee, Chair: Rita Flemming <u>rfleming2@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 4. Constitution and By-laws Committee, Chair: Jane Jackson jsjackson@tnstate.edu
 - 5. Curriculum Committee, Chair: Karen Smith kcoker@tnstate.edu
 - 6. Faculty Grievance and Appeals Committee, Chair: Phyllis Flott <u>pflott@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 7. Faculty Benefits and Welfare Committee, Chair: Derek Charles <u>dcharles@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 8. Information Technology Committee, Chair: Kamal Al-Nasr <u>kalnasr@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 9. Nomination and Appointment Committee, Chair: Charles Brown <u>cbrown67@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 10. Library Committee, Chair: Angel Sloss <u>asloss2@tnstate.edu</u>
 - 11. Professional Development Committee, Chair: Ken Chilton kchilton@tnstate.edu
 - 12. Research Committee, Chair: Venkataswarup Tiriveedhi vtirivee@tnstate.edu

- 13. Student Appeals Committee (formerly Academic Subcommittee II on Admissions, Readmission, and Retention), Chair: Vacant
- 14. Post Tenure Review Committee, Chair: Vacant

Non-Instructional Assignments (NIA) Grant Committee Chair: Senator Jane Jackson

- Senator Brown has requested all senators to ask two faculty from All Colleges to serve on the NIA grant committee and send their names to the Chair of NIA committee, Senator Jane Jackson by September 17, 2020.
- 6. All senators were asked to vote on senator chair, Kimberly Triplett to attend the Presidents Cabinet's meeting for year of 2020-2021. All senators unanimously voted for senator chair.
- 7. New Business

Curriculum Committee Report by Senator Karen Smith:

- 61 CARFs were submitted in the summer
- The Multi-Course online delivery modifications form was approved by Vice President of Academic Affairs Provost Michael Harris on July 30, 2020 for use when a program has several courses that they are adding online format to as the only change.

Faculty Handbook submission for Decennial Report discussed by Senator, Chair Triplett

- Friday August 21st: Final Version of Revised 2020 Faculty Handbook was submitted
- Wednesday August 26th: Reviewed by University Counsel and provided brief legal edits and comments
- Thursday August 27th: Senator Triplett met with University Counsel to discuss the legal comments/edits. FS EC conducted the final review and approve
- Friday, August 28th: FS EC submitted the final version of revised 2020 Faculty Handbook to Dr. Charlise Anderson, Managing Executive Director of SACSCOC
- Please Note: All comments from the Office of Academic Affairs and University Counsel will be submitted to our Constitution and By-Laws Committee for review and future consideration in the Faculty Handbook
- Wednesday, August 26th: Proposed amendments 1-5 have been approved by Administration.
 - Amendment Six, Faculty Trustee is under review by Administration until the deadline of Friday October 2, 2020. Will keep everyone posted

SACSCOC Decennial Report:

- TSU requested for an extension to submit the Decennial report
- New submission date is Wednesday, September 30th

The meeting concluded at 4:00 pm

Next Faculty Meeting is scheduled on Thursday, September 17, 2020

All 31 senators plus Past-Chair Dr. Geoffrey Burks and Faculty Trustee Dr. Ali Sekman, were present.

List of Attendees

	Faculty Senate Attendees:	
	Last Name	First Name
1	De Koff	Jason
2	Khanal	Aditya
3	Fleming	Rita
4	Dennis	Samuel
5	Jolayemi	Joel
6	Marquis	Gerald
7	Jackson	Jane
8	Flott	Phyllis
9	Chakraborti-	Sumita
	Ghosh	
10	Sibulkin	Amy
11	McCurry	Charles
12	Fasoro	Abiodun
13	Al Nasr	Kamal
14	Brown	Charles
15	Charles	Derek
16	Gishe	Jemal
17	Raynes	Edilberto
18	Coker	Karen
19	Chaires	Mark
20	Klomegah	Roger
21	Phillips	Elaine
22	Crawford	Mark
23	Bekele	Gashawbeza
24	Sloss	Angel
25	Young-Siegler	Artenzia
26	Boadi	William
27	Kelly	John
28	Quick	Quincy
29	Tiriveedhi	Venkataswarup
30	Triplett	Kimberly
31	Chilton	Kenneth
	Non Faculty Senate Members:	
	Burks	Geoffrey
	Sekmen	Ali