TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY

Campus Master Plan

Acknowledgments

This planning effort would not have been possible without the help of Tennessee State University's administration, faculty, staff and students who were and are committed to making this plan a living document, shaping the physical makeup of the campus for many years to come. President Dr. Melvin Johnson was instrumental in providing the leadership necessary to allow the Master Plan Steering Committee to explore concepts that would most benefit the campus and its surrounding community without constraint. Dr Samuel Polk, as Chair of the Master Plan Steering Committee was also a fundamental contributor to the success of this planning effort; not only organizing the TSU campus community but also by providing a clear nada accurate history of past decisions and current activities. The Master Plan Steering Committee and other campus committees (listed in Appendix A) played a vital role in informing the Planning Team of the most important campus needs and reviewing possible solutions to those needs in an objective manner. The outside community was also involved with several planning meetings and provided valuable feedback. With the spirited commitment of all of those involved, the master plan will be able to continue serving as mission support of TSU's strategic plan.

PARTICIPANTS

Tennessee State University Master Plan Committee

Dr. Sam L. Polk - Director of Facilities Management, Planning Committee Chair

Mrs. Debra Alexander - Chair, Staff Senate
Dr. Helen Barrett, Dean - Graduate School

Mrs. Cynthia Brooks - Vice President for Business and Finance

Dr. Sammy L. Comer - Assistant Professor of Agricultural Science/Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Constantine Fenderson - Interim Dean, School of Agriculture & Consumer Science

Dr. Michael Freeman - Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Dennis Gendron - Vice President for Technology & Administrative Services

Mr. Steve Gillette - Director of Planning, Design, and Construction

Dr. Robert Hampton - Provost and Executive Vice President

Mrs. Thelma Harper - Tennessee State Senator
Mrs. Sharon Hurt - President of JUMP

Dr. Ada Jackson - President of TSU National Alumni Association

Dr. Melvin N. Johnson - Ex-officio, President

Dr. David Jones, Minister Mrs. Delorse Lewis Mr. Carl Manka Mrs. Mary Pruitt Schrader Lane Church of Christ
Special Assistant to the Provost
Tennessee Board of Regents
Tennessee State Congresswoman

Mr. Alexander Murray - Associate Director of Facilities Management

Mrs. Teresa Phillips - Director of Athletics

Mrs. Dawn Rutledge Jones - Assistant Vice President for University Relations & Development

Dr. Marcus Shute - Vice President for Research & Sponsored Programs
Mr. Bill Sneed - Director of Computer Information Technology

Ms. Linda Sparks - Associate Director for Public Relations

Mr. Shereitte Stokes - Vice President for University Relations & Development

Mr. Edward Whitmore - Metro Councilman

Ms. Xandelyn Wright - President, Student Government Association

Consultant Team

TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY

Campus Master Plan

BKV Group, Inc.

222 North Second Avenue Minneapolis, Minnesota 612.758.4266 tel 612.758.9266 fax lmoran@bkvgroup.com

Lew Moran, Principal – Architect
Michael Ryan, Managing Architect
Victor Pechaty, Design Partner – Architect
Jesse Symynkywicz Planner / Landscape Architecture

Paulien & Associates, Inc.

899 Logan Street, Suite 508 Denver, Colorado 80203 303.832.3272 tel 303.832.3380 fax lkeith@paulien.com

Lisa Keith, Senior Associate - Space Analyst

Barge Cauthen and Associates, Inc.

95 White Bridge Road, Suite 311 Nashville, Tennessee 37205 615.356.9911 tel 615.352.6737 fax mellenberger@bargecauthen.com

Mathew L. Ellenberger – Civil / Infrastructure Planning

I.C. Thomasson Associates, Inc.

2950 Kraft Drive, Suite 500 Post Office Box 40527 Nashville, Tennessee 37204 615.346.3400 tel 615.346.3550 fax ballen@icthomasson.com

Burkley M. Allen – Mechanical / Electrical Infrastructure Planning